We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schlosshotel Chaste
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarasp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Located in a quite village overlooked by the Tarasp Castle. Toured the castle and the walks around the village. Met at the station and driven to the hotel a few kilometres from the station.
Fruit and biscuits on arrival which was appreciated. Family owned business and great pride is taken in the hotel. Lavishly decorated. Dinner at night exceptional. Had a problem with breakfast which the owner immediately attended to. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biglizard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Fantastic family and staff who gave us great advice and a super service. Excellent restaurant and and spa facilities. Located in a beautiful, small village with outstanding views of the surrounding countryside. If you wish to be spoiled when staying in the Engadine then this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecs, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel Chasté situated is a little, silent, peaceful village, near to the Tarasp Castle. Perfect for relaxing and excursions: fox example Ardez, Guarda, Scuol: medieval country houses. Our room has a king size bed, with very comfortable matress, LCD TV, DVD player, coffee, tee machine.
I recommend this hotel everithing, who like the old stile with every modern conveniences.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laszlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We tried to go over the Fluelapass not knowing it was closed in winter. Finally arrived by car using the train connection, easy does it. Arriving at the hotel we were treated with the utmost respect and hospitality. Apersonal touch you only see with privarely owned small hotels these days. The rooms are decorted typically Swiss with an open fireplace and there is a piece of local cake, fruit and other sweets to welcome you. Diner was a real surprise, we are frequent travellers but we seldom come across a good kitchen like this. Since my wife is a vegetarian they made an exquisite 3 course meal for her outside the standardmenu. I was treated with a perfect starter, a Tournedos Rossini of excellent quality and a great dessert. Overall it was a great experience one we will soon take again. Tako & Therese

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tako_und_Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

First the good. Incredible tiny village is host to the old world Schlosshotel Chaste and Restaurant that takes you to another time and place. The hotel is in a typical Engiadiner style house that was the original family home. The peace and quiet here is amazing! The restaurant is very good with Swiss European cuisine. On the night we arrived we had the chateaubriand for two which was impeccable! The owner is the Chef and delivers classical food that is of the highest quality. The ambience is classical swiss chalet, carved pine panelling with lovely linen table cloths and a extensive wine list....or shall I say book!?! My husband had a difficult time choosing.

Now the not so good, while the room was very comfortable there were a few things that could gave been better. Those of you who have read my other reviews know that bathroom toiletries are a big deal for me! While this hotel has lovely Herbal shampoo and shower gel, there was no hair conditioner which is always a letdown for me. On the bright side the bathroom was extremely modern with a large rain shower head in addition to a hand held. But there were only two smallish towels and no slippers or bathrobes. On the plus side the bed was ridiculously comfortable and the sheets and duvet wonderful! Not a pea in sight.....! : )
The fabrics used to decorate in our room at least are a bit twee.....this place is in an amazing location with a view to a fairy tale castle just steps away! The kitchen serves delightful food, with a little decorating tweak here and there could be a FIVE plus....!
I have stayed here before 3 years ago with family visiting from abroad and we had a lovely time then as well and a delicious dinner. These little details are what kept me from rating it a four not a five but I would go again as it offers peace beyond compare with wonderful views and food to match!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the castle.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

..that lingers on wit you days after you've left. We've just returned from an unforgettable weekend staying at this marvellous hotel, where the family Pazeller adn their excellent team know how to make their guests feel like royalty and truely at home from the moment you step over the threshhold. The food was delicious, the wines heavenly, the service impeccable, the room comfortable and spacious, the spa area adequate and welcoming after a day out in the beautiful surrounding countryside. The setting is fairy-tale like and when you're lucky enough to have blue skies and sunshine.. I can't wait to find a reason to go back! I think it's the first hotel I've ever written to upon my return to thank them for everything. Grazia mille!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just got back from a fantastic, fairy-tale stay at Schlosshotel. After reading the previous reviews on tripadvisor, my husband remarked that they were so good and so consistent he secretly suspected they'd all been written by someone who worked for the hotel. But upon on our return, we can happily confirm that they are all true, and more. The family that has been running the hotel (for 22 generations!) are warm and gracious and full of character. Gian, Rudi and the rest took incredible care during our stay, arranging meals at other local restaurants, taking us out snowshoeing, suggesting itineraries for the day. We felt like we had stumbled on a little-known throwback to a time of stuccoed 15th century houses, fairy tale castles and local characters out of a travel novel. The hotel itself is even more lovely and delightful than it looks like in the pictures - a perfect blend of simplicity and elegance. The town, or related series of towns in the valley are utterly charming and have a sleepy, untrampled feel. Overall one of the nicest weekends we have spent in a long time.

A couple things I wish someone had mentioned in their reviews (but we were happy to discover on our own)... 1) This is a perfect one or two day add on to any trip in or around Zurich. We came on the train from a conference in Davos. 2) If you go, you must try to recently renovated thermal hot springs and sauna in town. They are a treat, and the indoor/outdoor bath is completely magic at sunset (though you may have to contend with swarms of apres-skiers and swiss families with the same idea. Also a great place to bring kids). 3) An extra bonus of staying here -- you can check if off your list of 1000 Things To Do Before You Die. It's in the book!

While there we very much enjoyed a fantastic dinner of raclette at Villa Maria down the hill, and a divinely simple and delicious lunch in Avrona, which was a bracing 30 minute hike from the hotel through the forest.

Room Tip: We had room 135, which we loved. Can't beat a fireplace in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarasp
2.0 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#2 of 2 in Vulpera
7 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#7 of 16 in Scuol
79 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Chaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Chaste

Property: Schlosshotel Chaste
Address: Sparsels, Tarasp 7553, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Tarasp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarasp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Chaste 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schlosshotel Chase is a charming Engadine house with modern comfort in a very quiet and sunny location. Our guests get relaxed in the beauty of our nature, our comfortable Swiss pine rooms and our wellness area with different saunas, steam bath and massages. We pamper our guests with culinary delights from the Chaste gourmet kitchen. During 500 years enchanted by the Castle of Tarasp - evolution and tradition of a farmhouse. The transformation of the farm into a hotel started in 1912 by installing a modest inn and grocery store during the restoration of the castle. In 75 years the hotel established its international reputation for its syntheses of nostalgic ambiance, exquisite courtesy and top-level cuisine in paradisiacal environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Schlosshotel Chaste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Chaste Tarasp
Schlosshotel Chaste Hotel Tarasp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing