We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Castle in Wallis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colline de Daval

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sierre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colline de Daval
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sierre
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle in Wallis”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Castel de Daval last weekend and enjoyed it so much! The castel is in the middle of the vineyard and it is absolutely beautiful. The owners of the castle were very friendly, and therefore we felt so welcome and at home. We got a wine degustation where we could try those very delicious wines and where we learnt a lot about wines and there production. The whole time we felt and saw with how much passion they run this lovely castle. We can recommend this beautiful place to everybody and look forward to stay there soon again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja_loves_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Very warm welcome. Very very capable lady owner helped with luggage and made very appropriate recommendations about attractions and restaurants around. Even called a restaurant for me. The kind of person that makes a difference.
The other highlight is the site and views. Abundant gorgeous views on the vineyards around. From my room (Le Cornalin), I had a view on 3 sides. From the other rooms, there is view from 2 or 3 sides. The castel in on a small mountain, in the middle of the Valley of the Rhone. It is surrounded by what seems to be infinite vineyards, and typical charming traditional houses.
The land belonging to the property is roses and vines, very well kept. Makes picture perfect, with the red shutters, etc.
Rooms are very clean. Style is on the clear, contemporary side (opposed to traditional, wooden style), but pleasant. The writing table was welcome. No fridge or minibar, but there is a wine cellar with the house wines available for purchase, on the main floor. I tried a few of those, all excellent. The owner does wine tasting “aperitif” there at 18h00, if guests are interested. Many of their wines are featured in local top restaurants. For example, they have three at the chic restaurant Chateau de Villa, in Sierre.
Rooms are not the most spacious, especially if 2 persons travelling with big luggage. In that latter case, I would recommend nothing smaller than the room “Le Cornalin”.
The hostess (owner) or their maid serve breakfast on the first floor. They serve tea, coffee and juice, and the food is self-serve. Bread, cereals, homemade jams, including one from the apricot that the owners grow themselves. Local cheese and dry meats. Fresh fruits.
Free internet and TV in room. Free parking. Easy to find, and about 5 minutes drive from highway, although one doesn’t hear or see the highway at all.
I am very happy I stayed there, and will go back.

Room Tip: Pay attention to size of room that you need. If 2 people with big luggage, nothing smaller than '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Me and my husband had a room with a terrace, our son in the tower room had access to the same terrace. Beautiful view of the Rhone valley from the terrace.
Clean nice rooms, good breakfast. We tasted some of the housewine, drank it on the terrace with view of the Rhone valley.
We could watch the heavy rains in the southern and northern part of the valley, but in Sierre it does not rain often, a very dry climate because of the high mountains surrounding the valley. The castle was originally a water-supply house for irrigation of the vineyards. It was rebuilt into a agro-tourism castle not many years ago.
We had a winetasting of the local wines. Very good wines. Loved the Johannisberg wine.
We came by car, so it was easy to find the castle. But it is quite a bit to walk , and you need a car / bicycle to go to a restaurant for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SisselOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Perfect place for a stay in the Valais, stunning views, beautifully modernised castle looking building. Host , Monique, very friendly & accommodating, but we need to take French lessons:-)
The building was very clean with all amenities & very comfortable. Our room in the tower had very narrow steep stairs - very awkward to climb with luggage especially , we swapped rooms with our friends who have a young child as it wasn't suitable for them- their ' new' room was great!
We did experience a lot of ants in our room which needs to be looked at!!
Breakfast was okay, cereals , cold buffet of breads & spreads. Couldn't have the cheese as it was on the same plate as the meat - not acceptable for vegetarians !
Would recommend staying here :-)

Room Tip: Avoid Tower room, steep stairs & bedroom a little cramped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normski07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We all love the place!!! This is beyond fantastic!
Pros: the winery, very nice owner Monique, the services, the breakfast, simply everything. Everything is clean as new, nice view, nice vineyard. The living room is so relax that we can sit there for the whole night and enjoy the wine.
Cons: To be honest, the location is good only with a car. It is walkable, but a far way to walk. Taxi would cost about Chf25 from Sierre/Siders station.
1 tiny cons is the shower area is a little bit slippery.

We rent 2 rooms, 1 double Cornalin, 1 twin Paien. For the twin room, there is no door to the bathroom. People who book twin room are those who don't sleep together, but the bathroom has no door and makes embarass when having shower. In our double room, the bathroom has door, which is unnecessary. Also, the twin room has a romantic lighting, as well as a lovely balcony, one would imagine a princess standing in the balcony hoping a prince to come save her. I would suggest the bed setting of the Twin and double to swap, so that 1 couple can enjoy the romantic moment of the balcony in the cozy castle.
I would definitely return, and hoping to rent all 5 rooms at the same time with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Paien has a long and narror balcony with the best view, Cornalin has a big balcony, both rooms are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This B&B is a real jewel. It is located on the top of a small hill a few minutes by car outside of Sierre in a building which looks like a castel. The castel is surounded by vineyards (in fact it is a winery and they produce very good wines). It has 5 rooms each one different. We had the room Malvoisie Flétrie in the tower which had a great view on 3 sides. The room is over 3 floors with a very narrow and steep stair. So if you have a problem stepping stairs it is better to take another room. Otherwise I would really recommend it. The furnishings is simple and very nice. The room shares a great terrasse with another room which is a big plus (the other rooms do not have terrasses). You have a view on the whole Rhone valley. The breakfast is excellent with bred, viandes sechées, cheese from the region and homemade marmalade. The owners Monique and Bertrand Caloz are very charming and helpful. This B&B is a real insider tipp.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cealo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierre
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#10 of 41 in Crans-Montana
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 1 in Vercorin
24 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
ibis Sion Est
ibis Sion Est
#1 of 9 in Sion
337 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Diligence
La Diligence
#21 of 41 in Crans-Montana
28 reviews
3.7 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colline de Daval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colline de Daval

Property: Colline de Daval
Address: | Colline de Daval 5, Sierre 3960, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Sierre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sierre
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as an Ancient watertower, The Castle of Daval stand on the hill surrounding by the vineyards. The Castle of Daval offers 5 rooms and will give you the Experience of Wine Tourism with a visit of our winery and a wine tasting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing