We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a charming village, but something is missing”
Review of Hotel Meisser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meisser
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent five days in this lovely hotel in the outstanding village of Guarda. We had a room with a balcony which was quite large, and included a lot of storage. Unfortunately, the hotel was about to close for renovations, and we were woken up by construction noises above our room at 7:30 two mornings.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied. Dinner was usually delicious, although some “family recipes” lacked sophistication. We had lunch in the restaurant on our first day, and found it extremely expensive. The dining room staff was very professional, yet friendly, and attentive.

We were there in the winter, and were very happy with the wide choice of perfectly maintained walking and snowshoeing trails accessible directly from the hotel door. The snowshoes provided were of excellent quality. We took advantage of the very convenient Swiss railway system to spend a day snowshoeing in the neighbouring town of Scuol.

Our only disappointment was the lack of “community spirit”. Every night, from 5 to 6, we could have a complimentary drink in the lounge. We thought that would be the perfect opportunity to meet and mingle, and discuss our day’s adventures with other guests. Unfortunately, most people sat reading a book or a newspaper, and no effort was made by the owner to encourage people to socialize. We have done several hiking trips in various parts of the world, and socializing over a drink is often the highlight of our day. Unfortunately, it was not the case in Guarda…

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I spent time seeking a winter hotel location in Switzerland for high level snow walking in the mountains. Our parameters were that we wanted good walking from our base and those walks should not be shared with skiers. Add to that our search for a comfortable and warm hotel without being a Health Spa or too flush with star ratings. The Hotel Meisser at Guarda in the Higher Engadine ticked all the right boxes and our visit was arranged by Inn Travel who have used this hotel as a walking base for many years.

The village is at a height of about 5,000 feet and the railway station is some 500 feet lower down some hairpins, but is served by regular post buses directly from the village. Guarda is steeped in history and is preserved as a village of historic interest in which Hotel Meisser plays a significant part. The hotel is on two floors and the annex across the road on three floors. No two rooms are identical and in total there are about 24 letting rooms which means the hotel retains an intimate feel.

The biggest plus is the Meisser team so ably led by genial hosts Benno and Meya Meisser whose family have run the hotel over many generations. They are very hands-on and the staff, without exception, are clearly happy in their work and enjoy meeting guests. The chef is extremely talented and the fine dining experience is a cherished memory of our stay. Locally produced meats are often smoked on the premises and dinner is served in the large dining room with reserved tables and silver service.

This report is probably of limited value because firstly the snow experience really only applies during the period from December to February when there is good snow and prepared pistes, one running from the door of the hotel. The hotel base is on a sunny terrace and often our village was in sunshine when the valley below was dark. High mountains surround the valley.

The other significant happening is that as from February 2014 the hotel is closed whilst the roof space is converted into extra accommodation and the exiting first floor bedrooms are being gutted and refurbished. The cost of the work is massive and Benno took time to show us the layout of the new rooms and his plans for upgrading. All the work is being carried out by skilled craftsmen working within the framework of this lovely old building which was at one time a farmhouse.

We stayed in the annex across the road and judging by the standard of finish we have no doubt that the entire project will be well managed and totally in keeping with the building's history, amply covering the needs of guests with rooms and suites of various sizes.

This is a three star hotel and we hope that despite the enhancements it stays that way to reflect the easy and relaxed atmosphere of a mountain hotel where guests feel comfortable with the friendly informality of welcome and being part of the host family for a few days.

The dinners are certainly worth 4 stars, the annex is up to that standard too and perhaps the new accommodation might tempt 4 stars but the hotel doesn't have a lift, nor a swimming pool or health suite and the lounge can really only accommodate half the guests at any one time. This could be a blessing for those people who love it as it is. We are in that category.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I did not expect much when I booked this hotel in remote but extremely beautiful Guarda. And I was positvely surprised at every step and can summarize that this hotel is worth much more than just 3 stars and is a good example for a well run family-owned hotel. We had one of the top rooms in the adjacent building, the room was large and very modern and well equipped, even WLAN was available in the room and free of charge. Both dinner (a-la-carte) and the breakfast were perfectly cooked and offered good local produce,from cheese to honey. The only downside was the extra charge of CHF 4.60 for a cappucino. Given the price level of the hotel which is not moderate, this is just not the way things should be. The staff is friendly and helpful and the guests were a good mix of families, couples and retirees, all seeking to take advantage of the superb hiking possibilities which begin just outside this hotel. Will we be back? Yes, we will! Thanks for a great stay in beautiful Guarda.

Room Tip: Room 36 is a large suite with a large bathroom, dining table and sitting area and can be recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our visit to Guarda and Hotel Meisser was all I had hoped it would be. The town itself is very small (no ATMs, cash-only shops) and quiet, which was one of the draws for us, since we knew we would be in major cities elsewhere in Switzerland. Guarda is so pretty yet rural, and its location is amazing. Well worth the effort it took to get there by train (3 changes for us, coming from Germany). The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and very pleasant. My husband left his passport behind (we don't talk about that!!!!), and they were kind enough to send it to our hotel in Lucerne. (I'm not sure we would have had the same results from a large urban hotel.) The food was really good and I had some Reisling from the area that was just spectacular...too bad I didn't think to bring a bottle back with me!! I'd heard about Swiss wines, and I'm a believer now! I'd stay at Hotel Meisser again in a second!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony - the views are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great location,great food,lovely rooms,& very hard working staff made this a lovely place to stay.very quiet location with superb views.set in a lovely village.staffvery friendly,helpful & hard working

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We've been enjoying meals in the garden restaurant of Hotel Meisser for many years and this time we decided to actually choose the hotel as our base for a week in the Lower Engadine.
We weren't disappointed with our choice. Our room turned out to be a lovely spacious suite in Chasa Pepina, a separate building located across from the main hotel.
To wake up in the morning in Guarda is really a treat. It's one of Switzerland's most beautiful villages (also assuring a great night's sleep).
For future reference: the next time we'll skip the half board arrangement and order à la carte so as to enjoy more of the wonderful local dishes that the kitchen offers on the more extensive menu for non hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buon_gusto_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in Guarda. While Guarda is very pretty and not crowded, it was nice to see the beautiful buildings and Hotel Meisser is one of the nicest. The staff was excellent and the meals great. Guarda is a bit off the main road and if that is what interests you to be in a small town with a beautiful view, Hotel Meisser is a top choice. The hotel seemed to be almost entirely booked although the rest of the town seemed to be pretty empty. I would certainly recommend Hotel Meisser.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Densch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guarda
0.1 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi
0.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
188 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
5.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#4 of 4 in Guarda
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meisser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meisser

Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range: £134 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meisser 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda, a cluster of very old intricately painted farmhouses with flowers at every window, nestles on a mountain shelf high above the Engadine Valley - one of the most picturesque hideaways in Switzerland. Happily, there is a gem of a hotel to match the perfection of the village. The Hotel Meisser is beautifully situated on a promontory overlooking the expanse of green valley below, with a terrace where guests can enjoy refreshments an fine food. The hotel, a typical Engadine farmhouse, dates back to the 17th century. Throughout the hotel there is an old-world ambiance achieved through the use of antique chests, pieces of old copper, oil paintings, and baskets of fresh flowers everywhere. The main house offers simple accommodation in rooms with shower or bath, and tree rooms afford memorable views an enjoy their own balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meisser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing