We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not forget to take fondue for dinner there!”
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Morgana
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mendrisio
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is very good and extremely well organized hotel at this price category. Patrick was very helpful during all our stay and Raclette with local wine at the restaurant was an excellent choice! During our long trip through Europe we never experienced so fast Internet connection, it makes life easier too! And if you traveling from North, do not forget to take a swimming pool!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leopad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Good quality price ratio. Hotel is quite old and not renovated but it is well kept and the service is excellent.
Very good basis for excursions, shopping at foxtown and enjoying the many grottos in the region.
Good choice as well if you want a stop on a longer trip to Italy
Parking in front of the hotel, nespresso machine and minibar with complimentary drinks in the room. Breakfast with a nice selection.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed a night in May 2014 in this hotel (family of 4 including 2 children). The hotel is very clean and very close to fox town. The service was amazing. In fact best I ahve seen so far in Europe. It has all essential things needed to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faraz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in March. We had a wonderful time, the manager Patrick was extremely helpful, and was always happy to assist with any questions. He even dropped our bag off at FOX town when we realised we would struggle to get back to the hotel, and make the train in time. He also proposed that we could hire the electric bikes and travel to Bellavista on Monte Generoso which was a great idea, and we loved zooming around the place on these bikes, and made it to the view point without destroying ourselves on the mountain.

The hotel was clean, the room was basic, but very nice and the breakfast was simply a great continental breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and will definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGerber78, Direttore at Hotel Morgana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear DavidC
Thank you very much for your very kind feedback and rating - it has been a very big pleasure to host you at the Hotel Morgana Mendrisio and it makes us really happy that we have been able to provide you a plesant stay!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Morgana

Kind regards
Patrick Gerber, manager and the team of the Morgana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Small clean rooms. Good view from the restaurant. Breakfast is quite simplistic. I liked abundance of cheese. Funny thing is old (probably from 70s) equipment in bathroom and rooms. But that's groovy :) Mini-bar and WiFi for free. Although had to spent some rime before being able to connect. Not far from FOX town. Stuff is helpful and friendly. Coffee machine in rooms you can use for free as well. Light walls, by the way, so you can hear your neighbors and how they use coffee machine in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khoroshychelovek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGerber78, Direttore at Hotel Morgana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest!
Thank you very much for your kind review which is very important for us.

Our breakfast is continental buffet and the served cheese is all from the Ticino Region.
We are sorry for the light walls so you could hear your neighbours preparing the free Nespresso Coffee.

We do also always have some special Foxtown & Hotel offers!

We hope to welcoming you soon again to the Hotel Morgana Mendrisio

Kind regards
Patrick Gerber and the staff of the Hotel Morgana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The rooms were super old. Walked in with a musky smell to the place. Bed was soft... not the nice soft but soft from being too used. Pillows unusable. Tv was miniscule and didn't work.

We thought breakfast would compensate for the experience but we walked right out after seeing the spread. It was the worst set up of my 8 hotel stays this trip. there was no one in the dining area.

I will not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGerber78, Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Kahleong,
thank you for your feedback. We have checked bed in your room and this morning we have received from guests in the same room compliments for the good bed quality... The pillows can be ordered harder or softer - that depends on the requests of the people. The TV is working it was only switched off by the main switch. The TV's are not big - but this can also be seen on the pictures of the hotel...

Breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet and not the full american breakfast buffet that you have desired. We will add immediateley for our chinese hotel guests a rice and noodle soup for the breakfast buffet.

Kind regards
Patrick Gerber, Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is located in the area of the Cantine of Mendrisio.
Means that it is quite near the Fox Town Outlet and near the famous grotto's of Mendrisio.
Very friendly staff, this hotel has parking spots just in front of it.
The rooms are not very big, especially the bathroom, but it is the first time I see a full 70's interior without any chips or broken tiles. Very clean as well, you really feel welcome.
Nice breakfast for a 3 star hotel. This hotel is famous as well as a restaurant for Fondues for the people living in the region.
We stayed one night only as we were visiting friends and it was a perfect quality price ratio! The rooms are not expensive at all and there is even free WIFI.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickGerber78, Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Susy 1974

We thank you for your kind feedback.

We know that the Hotel is not at the state of the Art but we try to do always the necessary maintenance to keep everything clean and in function.

In the meantime in the room is not only WIFI free at your disposition, but also the minibar and a Nespresso coffeemachine.

We really hope to welcoming you soon again at the Morgana.

Patrick Gerber and the Morgana-Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendrisio
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
0.5 mi away
Inn Grutli
Inn Grutli
#4 of 6 in Mendrisio
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coronado
Hotel Coronado
#2 of 6 in Mendrisio
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#5 of 6 in Mendrisio
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: via Carlo Maderno 12, Mendrisio 6850, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Mendrisio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mendrisio
Price Range: £106 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morgana 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2016, the Morgana is situated in a quiet area of Mendrisio and is easy to reach from the Mendrisio exit of the A2 Lugano-Chiasso motorway, 9 km from the Italian border and 3 km from Lake Lugano. All rooms provide minibar, air conditioning, a TV, a safe and free WiFi. The modern Generoso restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine and guests can enjoy a glass of local wine at the in-house bar or on the palm terrace. In summer you can enjoy the sun on a spacious terrace or at the cool swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing