We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel with the outstanding service. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tesserete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tesserete
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tesserete
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with the outstanding service. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

The charming hotel runs by the two brothers,Luca and Oliver. Only 15 mins away from Lugano by bus,runs every half an hour and the hotel is just a minute walk to the bus station. The service is great with the friendly staffs. I really enjoyed my staying there.The peaceful atmosphere of the hotel and the town was a great idea for refreshing up my mind before going back to work. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was simple delicious. The dinner was exellent at the restuarant across the street owned by the same family. I went there alone but I highly recommended this hotel to anyone,family,friends and couples. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Palang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tesserete, Propriétaire at Hotel Tesserete, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Mrs Palang
thank you very much for your detailed review and pictures. We are all very happy that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon in the nearest future
Kind regards
Luca
Famiglia Besomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay at this charming, friendly place. The two owner brothers, Luca and Oliver go out of their way to make you feel comfortable in a authentic, warm way without being intrusive at all - very refreshing. I so much enjoyed my stay up there because of the superb service and positive atmosphere. My room was charming and clean and comfortable. Besides is their restaurant which serves excellent food to be enjoyed on the terrasse. Again, the service is outstanding. I highly recommend this place if you do not like shiki-miki but value authenticity and a relaxing, tranquil place. The only draw-back is that if you have no car, the last bus from Lugano is at 8pm. For me, this was not a problem as I very much enjoyed my dinners next door. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enea2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tesserete, Propriétaire at Hotel Tesserete, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Google Translation
Chère Madame Claudia
Merci pour la belle revue, nous sommes tous très heureux que vous avez eu un bon séjour avec nous. Nous sommes impatients de rencontrer à nouveau au Tessin
A presto Luca
Famiglia Besomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

The building and the garden are both lovely, retaining an old world charm but with modern comforts. The owners Luca and Oliver were attentive, friendly, kind and outstandingly helpful without being at all intrusive. The rates were reasonable. Excellent evening meals and lunches were served in the adjacent restaurant owned by the same family.

We would love to return, and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tesserete, Propriétaire at Hotel Tesserete, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Karin
thank you very much for the wonderful review about our Hotel and about Oliver and myself
We are very happy that you had a great time and look forward to the next visit and few well thougth changes around the hotel
Kind Regards
Luca
Famiglia Besomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We felt so warmly greeted by the owners Luca and Oliver, and were looked after with such genuine care and attentiveness. Lots of little things, like they way they talked through all the things to do in the area; or found us umbrellas when it rained and walking sticks for my parents for our hikes; or only charged us for two people on the nights where my partner was away; or asked us how the day went - but in a way that felt like they were genuinely interested.

The hotel is beautiful, an old, grand building with history and style.

The room was immaculately cleaned and tidied every day; with our son's teddy bears cutely arranged.

The breakfast was simple and delicious: muesli, yoghurt, croissant, bread, ham, cheese, jam; with every part tasting fresh. The coffee was great and we'd always be asked if we wanted a drink, throughout the day.

There's no restaurant in the hotel but Ristaurante Stazione over the road, owned by the same family, is also wonderful: delicious food and the same exceptional service.

The area is great if you want to be out of the bustle of Lugano with a small town feel, but still only 20 mins away by half hourly bus, although the last bus from Lugano is at ten past eight and a taxi costs 40 CHF.

The rooms could do with renovating, e.g. in our room the shower was in the bath with no shower curtain. On the other hand, for the price and given the overall loveliness of the place it's still a great deal; and the rooms apparently will be renovated in the next year or so.

We were sad to leave, and will definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandLilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tesserete, Propriétaire at Hotel Tesserete, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Steve
thank you very much for your recent comments on trip advisor, we couldn't have asked for a better review
Glad it all went well and your comments on the showers are right on the spots and we will renovate once we close during December - February
We hope to welcome you soon again in Tesserete
Best Regards
Luca
Famiglia Besomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The building is very nice, and perfectly located. Our roomm (#15) was nice, very clean and really comfortable. The service was really excellent! The director gave us a lot of good advices for the visits in the Lugano region. The restaurant located close to the hotel (ristorante stazione), managed by the same family, was really excellent. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Hotel Tesserete, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Dan, thank you very much for your review, it certainly makes us very happy. The room you stayed (number 15) is a refreshed one that we would like to set as benchmark for the other rooms to come, with different colours. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Hotel Tesserete is run by a lovely couple; both husband and wife speak perfect English, French, and probably German as well as Italian. They were pleasant, the place was clean and more spacious than the other places we had stayed in Ticino, and it was altogether a lovely and restful stay. Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Liked — Spacious, gracious, clean, hospitable
  • Disliked — Nothing, although I'm not sure it had wheelchair accessiblity.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louise5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tesserete
0.9 mi away
Ecohotel Locanda del Giglio
3.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
8.5 mi away
Hotel La Campagnola
Hotel La Campagnola
#1 of 1 in Vairano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Il Castagno
Il Castagno
#1 of 1 in Mugena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel La Tureta
Hotel La Tureta
#1 of 2 in Giubiasco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tesserete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tesserete

Property: Hotel Tesserete
Address: 6950 Tesserete Stazione, Tesserete 6950, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Tesserete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tesserete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tesserete 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tesserete was built in 1910 and full of old-world charm and since April 2012 it has been running by Family Besomi a renowned hospitality family that runs the Ristorante Stazione just 100meter away. The hotel boasts a large green garden where one can choose shade or sun in the tranquility of thesurroundings.The Tesserete bus stop is right across the Hotel Tesserete, which is specially suitable for hikers and bikers or anyone coming from Lugano train station.In the village of Tesserete there are 3 restaurants serving various specialitiesTesserete is the starting point for many walks and mountainbike tours in shady chestnut woods and unspoilt countryside. The 2003 Mountain Bike World Championship was held in the surroundings of Tesserete and since 2009 it holds the International Montainbike Swiss SeriesA public swimming pool is only a few minutes' walk from the hotel and is open from May to September, a new state of the art sport center for athletics, football, tennis has open recently.Travel information There is a bus line running every 40 minutes from 06:00 to 19:30 between Tesserete and Lugano train station or the city. The last bus leaves Lugano at about 20:00. On Saturday and Sunday there are also night buses.Room type: Double Room Room with a TV and an en-suite bathroom. Room type: Single Room Room with a TV and an en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tesserete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing