We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you would expect. Simple and quite Comfortable.”
Review of Hotel Frohsinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Frohsinn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erstfeld
Oakland, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“More than you would expect. Simple and quite Comfortable.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour. This was our Hotel for our two days in Lucern and we stayed two nights. The hotel it's self is great. Simple and quite comfortable, the rooms a modest size but quite standard for Switzerland. The down comforters ar so coozy and the alpen pine furniture is great. The food is very good served here and the bar has nice wines. Of course the prices are very Swiss in that they are very high but you can't escape that in this country. The 30 minute drive to downtown Lucern is so beautiful especially in the morning and evening. The hosts at the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming and kind. I only have good things to say about my stay at Frohsinn. I hope you will stay there if given the chance.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the from of the building the views are amazing. There is a train depot accross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed there for 9 days and from the day we arrived to the day we left we were made most welcome, all the staff were very friendly, great food, the room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a day out,close to the railway station so great for days out, will return again for another great holiday a big thanks too all

Room Tip: we had room 204 overlooking the railway and the mountains great views and not that noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a great place to stay for a day or a week. The people do everything they can to make your stay memorable. Across from the train station so you can connect to other places. Very quiet and extremely ready for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breezy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is my second stay, and though some aspects are a bit dated the location, value for money, the food and the friendly staff all go to make this an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We booked this hotel only two days in advance. Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) was put in a small apartment in a house next door to the hotel. The apartment could sleep 5 in three rooms with a bathroom and shower. The furniture was a bit outdated but in a good condition. The apartment was clean and perfectly suitable for us. Somebody else mentioned cigarette smell however although we are very sensitive to smoking, we did not smell it at all. The breakfast was good and suitable to kids (our kids are picky eaters).

The staff were very friendly. They don't speak English, however if you speak a bit of German and use some hand language, they understand quickly. We arrived with empty car gas tank and the owner explained us how the unattended gas stations work and pointed out that gas in the town is at least 0.10 CHF cheaper than on the highway.

There aren't a lot of free things in Switzerland but I have to mention free parking and free wifi internet in this hotel - a great addition for a traveler that must be online.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klauskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darkest Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Just spent 6 nights here and found the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. Room comfortable and clean, meals (breakfast and evening) of good standard and the restaraunt was also used by the locals - good sign! Paul and Ruth were always ready to have a laugh and a joke. As a railway enthusiast, being next door to Erstfeld station didn't bother me; could have watched the trains all night!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erstfeld
3.0 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 1 in Attinghausen
20 reviews
4.3 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
#1 of 2 in Altdorf
22 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seeblick Hohenhotel
Seeblick Hohenhotel
#1 of 1 in Emmetten
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hostellerie Sternen
Hostellerie Sternen
#2 of 3 in Fluelen
43 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#1 of 3 in Fluelen
31 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gasthaus Bergheim
Gasthaus Bergheim
#1 of 3 in Gurtnellen
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frohsinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frohsinn

Property: Hotel Frohsinn
Address: Gotthardstrasse 84, Erstfeld 6472, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Erstfeld
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erstfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frohsinn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Frohsinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing