We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Jardin de Kabir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jardin de Kabir
Ranked #3 of 6 Martigny B&B and Inns
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Don't be fooled by the modest exterior. The interior is a different world. What a charming delight in the Bourg of Martigny. Very warm welcome and excellent typically Swiss hospitality.The owners are a well travelled couple who have tastefully designed 3 gorgeously appointed and very comfortable double bedrooms with large en-suite bathrooms at reasonable prices. The top floor room is called "sous les toits" and has the biggest tub I have seen in a B&B. Products are also provided, so if you forgot your shower gel or body lotion, you're taken care of. Breakfast is delicious and eggs, cooked to your preference, are also available. Gabrielle and Angelo are lovely friendly people. You couldn't ask for better hosts! Make sure, you have a meal or two at Angelo's restaurant, les trois couronnes, a 2-minute walk from the B&B. Try the home-made pasta made by Gabrielle's aunt.

Room Tip: The top floor "sous les toits" is perfect for a lover's getaway. Large tub in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XDST82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I endorse all the positive things others have said, including about Les Trois Couronnes, but I'd also commend the two white doves in their stylish cage in the breakfast room who coo'ed very discreetly, just enough to remind you they were there. Couldn't agree more with what others say about now nice our hostess Gabrielle was.
Two minor things. Call me old fashioned but winceyette-type bedsheets with waterproof undersurface, though undeniably practical for a B&B or hotel and no doubt cosy in the cold, would not be my first choice for sleeping on in hot weather (we were there in a heatwave). There was one low, floor-standing fan in the lobby area outside our bedroom so we were able to bring that into the bedroom to try to keep cool through the night, but one on a higher stand would have been more effective, or even placed on a suitable shelf. Placed on the shelf below the TV it partly obscured the screen and the shelf wasn't the right height anyway.
But since we were staying just the one night, these were very minor issues. Our breakfast, on the hand, was perfect, We are strongly recommending the Jardin de Kabir to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hidden delight in Martigny, stunning architecture and beautiful rooms. Tucked away from the main street so first impressions are deceptive. Warm welcome and hospitality. I recommend dinner at le 3 couronnes. We will return.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Si1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

a romantic stay in a very very pretty place: extremely clean, charming and beautifully furnished & decorated.
simple but genuine breakfast, lovely room with big, comfortable bathroom. gabrielle is a nice, helpful owner who makes you feel at home - in a discreet way.
next to the b&b is "les 3 couronnes": very good cuisine and angelo is a kind chef. try the filed pastas (ravioli & co) and the gnocchi: made by gabrielle's aunt: hmmm...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, and it's an absolute jewel. They took two old houses and joined them by a covered terrace, with reflecting pool, that is so filled with light and warmth that we almost didn't want breakfast to come to an end. The three rooms are all unique, comfortable, and beautifully decorated, with character and exquisite taste.
In addition, we visited the Giannada Foundation which we hadn't seen for many years, and we were absolutely enchanted. The Monet exhibit was staggering, the old cars are fantastic, and the garden sculptures are breathtaking. And all the Roman history in the area - totally fascinating !!!
Martigny is definitely worth a weekend stay or more, and this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepmoving2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martigny
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Stand
1.6 mi away
Hotel Vatel
Hotel Vatel
#2 of 9 in Martigny
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Forclaz-Touring
Hotel Forclaz-Touring
#4 of 9 in Martigny
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpes & Rhone
Hotel Alpes & Rhone
#5 of 9 in Martigny
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#8 of 9 in Martigny
29 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel des Bains d'Ovronnaz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Kabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Kabir

Property: Jardin de Kabir
Address: rue du Bourg 19, Martigny 1920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Martigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Martigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing