We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent value for money”
Review of Hotel Vatel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vatel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Martigny
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
492 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Decent value for money”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This property, located in Martigny in the Swiss Canton of Valais near Lake Geneva, France, and some skiing areas, doesn't really deserve its four stars. The building is modern, but the rooms are quite basic and lack the amenities, such as a flat screen TV with an array of stations in different languages, that the sophisticated traveler expects.
The buffet dinner at the restaurant, though, is an outstanding value for a high-price country such as Switzerland. There are also free parking and free WiFi as well.
If you can avoid paying the rack rates and get a deal, this hotel is good value for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
19
47
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Clean, good hotel in Martigny. ~10 minute walk from railway station (away from town center) and 25 minute walk from the central square. The hotel is in good condition and rooms are clean and nice as well. Part of the staff are students so their skill levels may vary, but all have been helpful.
The other side of the building is for meetings and hotel business school classes so there are quite a lot of gatherings and events in the hotel. Sometimes these might be bit noisy, especially before Christmas time.
But over all, the hotel is probably best one in Martigny.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Very nice place, people are so kind, the restaurant has very good food. I slept very well. The hotel is close to the highway without been noice at all. and they let me take my dog for a little extra money which is completely fine.

Room Tip: park side was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February and had a very nice stay. We thought the rooms were nice, linens very nice, room and bathroom were clean, modern, and well designed. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to help with anything promptly (more towels, directions, opinions). We were very happy there and would stay there again. The hotel is in a very quiet area of Martigny (you have to drive to other restaurants) which we found was great for sleeping. Thank you Hotel Vatel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Hotel Vatel is a hotel business school and the students also live in the hotel. While on a business trip, I appreciate good night sleep, which was impossible as the students were having parties in their rooms almost each night. Walls in the rooms are paper thin.

The room itself was tiny with very basic furnishing. Tiny bed, a table, and that's it. Also my room was supposed to be non-smoking, but it had a distinct cigarette smell.

I will not go to this hotel again. Definitely not a four-star hotel.

The restaurant of the hotel was very good, though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveller801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Martigny hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martigny
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Stand
0.5 mi away
Hotel Forclaz-Touring
Hotel Forclaz-Touring
#5 of 9 in Martigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#8 of 9 in Martigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Porte d'Octodure Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel de Fully
Hotel de Fully
#1 of 1 in Fully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Baths of Saillon
The Baths of Saillon
#1 of 1 in Saillon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vatel

Property: Hotel Vatel
Address: Rue Marconi 19 | Centre du Parc, Martigny 1920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Martigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Martigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vatel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel VATEL is a 4 star hotel with 111 rooms featuring distinctly contemporary architecture. The hotel is 5 minutes from the centre of Martigny and the museums of the world renowned Gianadda Foundation. Our casual restaurant serves brasserie style cuisine. Our fully equipped conference centre with a capacity of up to 350 people offers everything you need to organize your next meeting or seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing