We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas In Switerland”
Review of Hotel Krone Giswil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Krone Giswil
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas In Switerland”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a Xmas in Switzerland tour with Leger Tours. We read reviews about this hotel before we got there and there was a mixed bag. We found this hotel to warm, clean, cosy and very friendly. For a 3 star hotel I found it to be what we expected. The staff were great the food was good and plenty. The beer was cold and their wine celler had good reds. If we are ever in this part of the world again we would stay there again. You get what you pay for and with that in mind if you don't want to pay for 5 star but enjoy a great stay in a very cosy clean hotel then I must recommend this one

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you feel uneasy about rooms being away from the main house. Its really not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shabby169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
29
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The people who have bagged this hotel clearly want five star for one star prices. Get real people. For the price of tours that stay here this is perfectly fine. No complaints and a cute setting. Great mountain views.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Not R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I - both retired - stayed there this month with a Ledger Coach holiday on which you don't always get the greatest accommodation (you get what you paid for!!) but this was the best. The bedrooms are in 4 different wooden chalets around the main house - the room was airy with french doors leading onto a balcony with a lovely view. There was lots of Wardrobe and Drawer space, there was a bath and a shower with a window that opened!
The food (half-board) was exceptional with lots of Swiss food for us to try and always a vegetarian option : a starter, then soup, the main course and a desert.
The drinks were expensive (but so is everything in Switzerland) The Staff were very friendly and nearly everybody spoke English. Would I go there as an independent traveller: Oh, yes!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 22oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Recently ,we stayed as a part of Trafalgar Tour for two days. Location being good 30 minutes drive from Lucerne , it was a kind of 'dead' , after sunset.If someone wants wuiet and only village scene , it was great , but for short duration ,on tourism , it is totally avoidable.Breakfast and one dinner was also average only.Rooms were small , but who designs and provides washing basin in the main 'living 'room....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhash g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stopped there for 2 nights during our group trip. Our room was good as we were in the "im Mondschein", but some members of our group were on another outside building and their room was like in a basement. It was damped and smelly.

We did like to stay in the middle of this picturesque village.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen_Harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

it was awful the main reception and dining area was like sitting in part nunnery and school dinner hall and really brightly lit no charachter whatsoever,,it actually reminded us of the bates motel in psycho,food average ,but everyone still hungry after.rooms allocated outside of hotel meant you had a freezing icy walk in darkness,very dangerous,no im sorry anyone wishing to stay there again must be mad,waste of money

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snobunny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giswil hotels

Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My Wife and I spent Xmas at this Hotel as a part of a Leger Holiday, the Hotels made up of several buildings and I guess we were lucky to be in the main Hotel as many complained about the walk in freezing conditions to the Dining Room and bar. our Room was No32 on the top floor which wasnt a problem as there is a very good lift it was clean but very cold the rad was placed behind a curtain so the heat never seemed to get into the room,the rooms are also very basic to say the least. and do not have any tea or coffee making fac so I was pleased that I had took my own. the Bar across the way left a bit to be desired more like a barn than a bar,the toilet and shower room is very small not big enough for two people at the same time. I am not nit pikin this Hotel just telling the trueth.the food is basic and is a bit repetative salad starter at every evening meal but breakfast is self service dont expect any form of eggs or bacon ect. just continental. the staff however are really nice and helpful and will do anything to make your stay as nice as poss.all in all we had a very enjoable Xmas but most of that was due to Andy and Barny our Leger drivers who were ab/fab

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YANTOLEICESTER48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giswil
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Hotel Krone Sarnen
#2 of 3 in Sarnen
64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
272 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#3 of 12 in Brienz
78 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#1 of 1 in Lungern
141 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Giswil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Giswil

Property: Hotel Krone Giswil
Address: Bruenigstrasse 92, Giswil 6074, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Giswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Giswil 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Krone Giswil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing