We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful renovated building turned hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winselerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winselerhof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Landgraaf
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful renovated building turned hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed at the Winselerhof for 2 nights since I was attending a conference in nearby Kerkade. The hotel is located at a huge, old country house which is renovated but keeps its old charm.
The room was large and clean, and while providing all the modern facilities it maintained its unique character. The bed was especially comfortable and the other facilities in the room were great; flat screen satellite TV, free WIFI and large closet. The breakfast was rich and tasty, and the restaurant in the hotel basement had great atmosphere and seemed to have cuisine food (we only had drinks there).
If you come to this remote (much closer to Koln or Duseldorf than Amsterdam) of the Netherlands this is most recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    220
    60
    18
    1
See reviews for
84
329
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My cousin booked his wedding reception here, and I was SO impressed. We arrived in the afternoon to beer, wine & champagne in the courtyard while everyone took time to check in and get settled. Staff was constantly circulating among the guests with full trays of drinks and taking orders for more. The reception was fabulous - top notch food, continued excellent service, and beautiful room. I finally settled in to sleep in a comfortable room with a nice view of the courtyard. All the rooms seemed to be different - my mom's had a small patio, other rooms were two stories, some bathrooms had tubs, others just shower stalls. The several rooms I saw were all up to date and nicely furnished. Breakfast the next morning was also lovely, again with great service. Great service, too, from the desk staff. I can't say enough about what a pleasant stay this was!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be different; many had two floors with large sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My family (five adults, one baby) stayed at the Winselor Hof for one night, predominantly to enjoy the fabulous food at its Italian-inspired restaurant Pirandello. Winselor Hof oozes history and is surrounded by green, proprietor Camille Oostwegel has done an excellent job in fixing this place up which we understand was close to ruin in the 1980s. We stayed in a small cottage, the properties' former baking house, which was just lovely with two bedrooms and bathrooms (one of which even has a sauna) and a small kitchen. The cottage was surrounded by beautiful trees and they had just started their own vineyard, which you could enjoy from your own terrace. Pirandello did not disappoint. I had dinner there ten years ago, which was lovely, but I think the place has been renovated which gives it a much more stylish vibe. Chef Raoul Govaerts served a fantastic seasonal degustation menu which was accompanied with some great wines. I think were were one of the first to arrive and certainly the last to leave - we had a great evening. Breakfast was great too with a lot of locally sourced produce, which I am always a fan of. After breakfast we went to Rolduc, another regional historical gem with a beautiful church. All in all, a lovely weekend, we will come back again.

Room Tip: If there are a few of you, ask for the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
273 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

...But I was staying alone and for business. I booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. I hadn't realized how far south it was and how long it took to get anywhere else (I needed to be in Limburg and Noord Brabant).

First off, no elevator. And there are steep stairs just to get to reception. My room was in the attic, up two flights of stairs, and under the eaves. I had to ask for someone else to carry my things up. I was worried it would be stifling, but I slept with the tiny window open, there was a fan in the room, and I was fine. The room was sweet, spacious enough, well-appointed, and the bathroom was spiffy. Very new and modern, which was a surprise because everything about the hotel feels old---in a good way. It's charming.

The staff was very concerned that I might be disturbed by a wedding party on my first night there, but I heard nothing. I was impressed with how solicitous they were about my having problems with noise.

I really liked the breakfast buffet. Not that there was anything extraordinary about it, but it was delicious, well-presented, and the staff were polite and friendly. Good cappuccinos and fresh squeezed orange juice. I had room service in my room for dinner and it was very good.

Room Tip: Without an elevator (and limited staff for carrying luggage), I would ask to be put on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was a surprise trip organised by the family to celebrate my 70th birthday. The hotel was a revelation as on the map it is close to an industry estate but in fact lies in a hollow surrounded by trees and you would think you were isolated in the countryside. Entrance through an archway opens into a large courtyard laid out with comfortable garden furniture. The hotel rooms were an eclectic mix of converted sheds and cow stalls, decorated in a mixture of tastes, ours was painted a rather dark blue which made it essential to have the lights on at all times. The restaurant was excellent, they had booked an all inclusive package which included welcoming drinks and a four course meal in the main restaurant. This was of a very high standard, each course accompanied by an explanation by the waiter of the contents. Service was slow but steady, time to digest between courses, we started at 6.45 and finished at 10.30 but the time did not seem to drag and each course was a delight. As this was only a one night stay we did little more than stroll around the immediate grounds and through the woods. Next day we visited Valkenburg but that is another story.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy if the courtyard is busy during the summer evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floatingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We recently visited this hotel on the way back to the Netherlands from a holiday in Germany. It is not cheap by any means, but it is a little oasis of calm on the edge of Heerlen. We booked a Junior Suite and were delighted to find that we could also book one with its very own infra-red sauna. Situated in a separate house (it adjoined a whole cottage that was a Senior Suite) we even had our own terras and tables and chairs. In the evening we ate at the newly refurbished Italian Pirandello Restaurant and had a wonderful (if rather expensive) meal on the balcony. Breakfast the next morning was also available on the balcony and comprised of a very good buffet. The atmosphere of the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite with its own infra-red sauna does not incur any extra charges. You just have to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Excellent room, staff top dollar and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landgraaf
10.1 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
2.3 mi away
Abdij Rolduc
Abdij Rolduc
#1 of 5 in Kerkrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winselerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winselerhof

Property: Winselerhof
Address: Tunnelweg 99, 6372 XH Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Landgraaf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Landgraaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winselerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Winselerhof is situated on the edge of the splendid Strijthagerbeek valley. The building, a distinctive country house built in the sixteenth century, now accommodates a marvellous hotel and restaurant. The building has retained its authenticity, but has at the same time been refurbished to create an extremely comfortable hotel, where the past and the present day meet each other in a very stylish manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Winselerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing