We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Waalwijk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Waalwijk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel excellent value for money. Beautiful room most comfortable bed staff amazing and food was lovely also good value for money. Would recommend this hotel....I also loved the childrens room in resturant kept my child occupied till food wad served.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely review you have posted for us. Since this year we have created the childrens room, so it is great to read about it for us as a hotel.

We hope to welcome you and your children again soon.

Best regards,
Manon Bouwman
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    299
    69
    17
    5
See reviews for
281
129
9
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This weekend we are staying for the third time in this hotel and it's so close to the Efteling,a 5 minute drive from the hotel.
The staff is very friendly,the rooms are spaciou, nice and clean,breakfast is super....there's more than enough to choose from.The bathroom is beautifull ( retro-style ) and everything you need is there.The hotel is childfriendly and if you would like another pillow to sleep on,they have different models to choose from.This time we've booked a family room for the first time.
Sunday you can sleep in late and check out late wich is really good after a full day spending in the Efteling till midnight.We hope that it's not going to be hot this weekend cause there's no airconditioning in the rooms and it can get very hot at night when you've got children sleeping in your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Els S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure to thank you for this positive review. We are doing our outmost for our little guests and therefore we want to thank you for the childfriendly note in your review.

We are aware of the fact that there is no airconditioning in the family rooms. We do have the option to book an upgrade to a junior suite. This is a larger room, with separate bath and shower, queen bed and a sofabed for the children. Maybe this is an option for your next visit.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Manon Bouwman
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel and rooms very clean an tidy. Beds very comfy. In the room, bathroom everything you need,topped up daily. The room as plenty of info about the hotel. There is a fridge.,teamaking facilitys,tv,phone, hairdryer and a FREE safe (easy to use). Downstairs near reception is a bar and resturant. We had a meal which was nice,but quite expensive,so we ate out the other days at the theme park. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I forgot my european charger and went to see if it was possible to hire one. He handed me one without asking my room number or any deposit,nothing. He said take it and smiled,so very trusting,big smile when i returned it too. There is a lift and stairs to all floors. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere,with nothing nearby but a garage,but there is a bus to Efteling theme park near the garage,about a mile away and worth a visit. Breakfast room is on the 1st floor,and is excellent with many choices,cereal,pastries,fruit,yoghurt, plus eggs and bacon. Also plenty of drink choice. Lovely hotel and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about our hotel. It is with great pleasure to read about all our facilities and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will pass your valuable feedback about the pride of our menu to the food department and we will take your feedback in consideration.

We look forward to seeing you back in NH Waalwijk.

Best regards,
Manon Bouwman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We, a family of 2 adults and 2 kids of 5 and 9 years, stayed in this hotel in July 2014 for one night, prior to our stay in Efteling park. The hotel looks like straight out of the 80ies or 90ies, but all in all our stay was pleasant. It is actually very nice inside, already the lobby looks inviting.
We got a family room in the ground floor, there was a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. The situation of the hotel is good, just 5 car minutes away from Efteling park, and also 5 minutes either from Waalwijk city center, or Kaatsheuvel center. The hotel features a very large (free) hotel parking. The restaurant was very nice (and good), although I only can speak about the breakfast we had there.
The only thing which bothered us, was that the family room we had did NOT had an air condition. I was told at the reception that all family rooms were on the ground floor, and none had one. This seemed a bit absurd to me, do children and parents have no right for A/C? We were lucky that on this evening there was a big thunderstorm, cooling everything down. Otherwise it would for sure have been too hot in the room to get a quiet sleep. Anyway, we liked our stay there, but had I know that the room was without A/C (in July), I would probably not have booked it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review you have posted about your recent stay with us.

It is with great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and enjoyed the Efteling Theme Parc. It is correct that the family rooms with bunkbed do not have an airconditioning. We have an alternative in our hotel and that is our junior suite(s). It is possible to enjoy this rooms with children and have more space, a seperate bath and shower and a sofabed for the children. There is a small fee for this room, but this will help during the warmer days.

We would like to thank you for sharing this information with us and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel, also in the summerperiod.

Kind regards,
Manon Bouwman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for a few nights on a business trip recently. The hotel is clean and spacious. I arrived late in the evening and it took a while to check-in as there was only one staff member on the desk who was already helping someone.

There is a lot of road building going on directly next to and around the hotel which can be very noisy. A message is left in the room advising ear plugs are available at reception. There is also no air conditioning so the rooms get hot and the WiFi is very slow unless you pay an extra nine euros a day.

There are really nice coffee machines in the reception lobby which are turned off at all times unless there is a meeting. This is a bit unfriendly and makes for an empty lobby.

The breakfast is good but the dinner is only average. The menu in the evening is small and the food only ok despite being expensive. The service was incredibly slow when I ate alone, taking almost 90 minutes despite me trying to rush the staff. Consequently I just ordered room service that costs an extra 5 euros and has an even smaller menu - but at least you don't have to sit there waiting. I ordered an orange juice which was delivered in a wine glass (it was tiny).

Coffee and tea facilities are provided in the room but only with powered milk which is a shame.

Wouldn't choose to stay again unless a necessity - mainly because you are in the middle of nowhere so really do have to stay in the hotel to eat, with little to do in the evening after work.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the extensive road building going on (although the hotel is on a very busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights for a business reason. And I really enjoyed it. The hotel has an excellent service with a polite and friendly staff. It has a great parking area. I think they have all the facilities to satisfy everyone's needs. The room was airy and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and varied. Also I was surprised with the birthday's gift from the hotel. It's not that often when I have my birthday staying at any hotel anywhere. But I thought that the typical birthday's gift from any high-class hotel would usually be a bottle of champagne. And this time I received a bottle of water. Anyway it was a gift so I was thankful for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Lightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review you have posted about your stay in our hotel and of course the high rating. We really appreciate this gesture.

We are happy to hear to you have experienced our staff, rooms, breakfast and parking facilities as positive. Every day we will do our outmost to make sure every guest will feel this way.

Besides that it is always a pleasure to celebrate somebody's birthday in the hotel, but we will take your comment about the water serious and make the gift more special.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Manon Bouwman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed with 2 kids in the family room for one night to visit the Efteling.
We arrived in the evening after visiting the park and had a smooth check in. The reception staff was very friendly.
Room was clean, modern and with good facilities. The room was a bit small, but it was one night stay, so not a problem. The only I didn't like that there isn't a locker in the bathroom in family room.  I think it is obvious there.
We had a room in the inner part of the hotel, and it was quiet. 
We also had a bath tube, minibar,  tee&coffee facilities,  free WiFi, free parking. There isn't air-conditioner in the room,  but it wasn't hot day when we staying.  Otherwise I believe that is would be hot in the room.
The hotel seams to be more business hotel. It's in the middle of nowhere, but only 3 km from Efteling. It is pity that they hadn't some kind of Efteling packages or at least cheaper tickets.
The breakfastbuffet was very good. Fresh fruit and juice, eggs, sweets, diet corner, special kids corner, ... Everything you want will be there. Coffee was also very good! 
I would definitely recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: room in the inner part of the hotel was quiet. 
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementNHWaalwijk, General Manager at NH Waalwijk, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely review. It is a great pleasure to read that you have experienced our facilities as positive. And even more important the friendlyness of our staff, our breakfast buffet and the quiet room.

We would love to add that we do have Efteling packages available. Please let us know if you are interested in a package during your next visit.
At the moment we are also working on a childrens room where they can play, watch tv, color. This room is located next to our restaurant during holiday periods.

We hope to welcome you again in NH Waalwijk.

Manon Bouwman
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waalwijk
Hotel De Kroon
#2 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Hotel Waalwijk
#2 of 2 in Waalwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Waalwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Waalwijk

Property: NH Waalwijk
Address: Bevrijdingsweg 1, 5161 BZ, Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Waalwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Waalwijk 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome at the NH Waalwijk. This cozy hotel is ideally located between Tilburg and Den Bosch and just a short drive from Efteling Theme Park. Those seeking some fresh air will love visiting Loonse and the Drunense Duinen Nature Park, both nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your NH Waalwijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing