We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Osombucco”

Restaurant De Fortuna
Reserve with
Restaurant De Fortuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Edam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$36
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant "De Fortuna" has a varied selection of surprising and always appealing meat, fish, poultry and game specialities. All the dishes are cooked in the traditional way with the finest ingredients which the various seasons have to offer.A skilled and extremely talented kitchen team, led by head chef Michel Boon, presents an entirely new menu every 6 to 8 weeks. In addition, they create an extra three-course menu which is not on the menu every week. You can take a look at the menu and the current week's three-course menu on this site. Friendly, well-trained, young hosts and hostesses will do everything to make sure you enjoy your visit to restaurant "De Fortuna". For the vegetarians amongst you, our chef prepares a new three-course menu every day. Naturally, special wishes with regard to your diet can also be taken into account. And if you come with children they are also very welcome. Ask for our special possibilities. The dining room has a cosy, domestic and Old Dutch ambience. With old beams overhead and dominated by marvellous stairs, you can gaze at the paintings, etchings, drawings, etc. while you eat of artists who were meant a lot to the region such as Hering, Van Nieuwenhoven, Bleys, Sluyters, Cassiers and Nieuwenkamp. And if you have to wait for your table or if you want to enjoy one for the road after your dinner, you can always go to our intimate bar. As soon as the weather permit, you can also dine in our beautiful terrace garden. In addition to our extensive wine menu, we also regularly offer interesting and fine wines. Click on to our page with wines to have a look. We would like you to reserve and on Friday, Saturday and Sunday you will even need to !!!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Osombucco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

we have tried the osombucco in wine sauce and it was excellent... would love to go again and again there!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroulinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks good, but watch out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We found the restaurant to be very uneven in quality. I had a beef dish that was inedible, tough and tasting strongly of bouillon. My daughter had a better chicken dish, but didn't find it special in any way. The waitress offered to take my entree off the bill, but actually only deducted the price of our drinks (about 13 Euros), instead of the 25 euro price for the entree.
A real negative was the intolerably slow service. We were there for nearly three hours, with every request (like water) requiring a minimum of fifteen minutes to fulfill. I was nearly frantic to leave by the end of this dismal evening.
The combination of very high prices, questionable quality and terrible service make this a place to avoid..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellamt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A visit to be remember forever. From the wonderful quaint rooms, fabulous food and wine, to the awesome service , it's a place to come back to time and time again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimsy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaas D, Manager at Restaurant De Fortuna, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have you around. Hope to see you back soon. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Service bad even by Dutch standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

For a supposedly decent hotel the terrace bar and food service is terrible even for Holland. So glad I didn't get a room here I was frustrated enough sitting there suffering the bar service. Pathetic. Servers attend to you at their leisure and in one case walked right past us, ignoring us and sat down 10 feet away for a smoke break and a chat with off duty buddies. Just BAD

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaas D, General Manager at Restaurant De Fortuna, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Sorry you did not like your visit. Could you help us out what in specific you did not like, so we can work on it? Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hervorragende, lokal geprägte Küche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Fortuna is the best Restaurant we visited so far on our sailing trip in the Ijsselmeer and Markermeer. Located in the pitoresque centre of Edam in a beautiful old house, the restaurant is a really charming place. The food was excellent and most of the ingredients locally sourced.
An absolute "must" for visitors!

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaas D, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Fortuna, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir hoffen, dass Sie eine schöne Fortsetzung Ihre Reise gehabt haben. Und wir sehen Sie gerne wieder in unserem Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant De Fortuna also viewed

Edam, North Holland Province
Edam, North Holland Province
 
Volendam, North Holland Province
Edam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing