We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of NH Capelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Capelle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Staff of the hotel was very friendly, especially during check in and check out. We had a very good breakfast for little value of money. This hotel has Free WiFi and Free parking. Very clean hotel. Hotel has a free bicycles, nice to have a little drive during the summer days

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TATI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    244
    77
    16
    10
See reviews for
53
199
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very good hotel in quiet area 10 min walk to the shopping center, 3 miles from Rotterdam. Very good size rooms, very clean, good service very helpful staff and rich breakfast ..............................................................................................................:)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel view on the lake :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yahia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is an excellent hotel, but probably too far out of the city center for it to attract tourists,
You certainly won't find it if you are strolling around downtown Rotterdam as it's nowhere near the city center,

Situated where it is if you need to business in the area or if you don't mind catching the local train then this is a nice place to stay

the bar is a great place to have a drink or a meal, the restaurant is more up market and so are the prices, the rooms are always clean and well serviced, and the staff while not always as effect as you would expect, are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endevaour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband & I have stayed at NH Capelle several times and have greatly enjoyed the tranquil location, cleanliness & convenience of this hotel. The hotel restaurant leaves much to be desired, as the food is far sub-par for the area, and the service there is absolutely terrible. Unfortunately, the staff service problems also extend to the front desk. Check -in times are strictly enforced by the front desk, antithesis little consideration or regard for weary travelers' needs for rest. To a man, the staff ignore guests or, when forced to interact with guests, they do so with irritation and resentment. These staff problems are quite unfortunate, as the hotel otherwise is a clean, modern, bright & inviting place, situated near good dining & shopping in the town of Capelle. The rooms are especially nice, spacious & well-appointed, with closet space & a safe for valuables. We will stay here again, as the value and locale can't be beat, especially regarding access to major freeways & convenient access to Amsterdam. I hope the staff attitudes are addressed, with emphasis on training the hospitality employees as to delivering a level of customer service worthy of this upscale hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A modern hotel, fairly typical of it's era set in a busy outskirts of Rotterdam. The location is good for cycling or walking to the large shopping mal - bus, train and metro are near by overall not a bad place to stay.
The main criticisms we have about our two night stay are that the inside of the drawers were very dusty as was the floor underneath the bed, however the room was very clean elsewhere so no real issues there other than I didnt unpack.
The breakfast buffet on day one was a wide choice of the usual continental meats and cheeses, fruits, yogurts etc plus hot bacon, scrambled and boiled eggs, pancakes, breads and assorted cold and hot drinks. The down side was no cold milk for the cereal ( or if there was it was well hidden) and an empty syrup bottle put out for the pancakes. ( were were down early enough for breakfast that it could not have started out full)
Breakfast on day two was a real dissapointment, No scrambled eggs, again no cold milk, nothing to put on the pancakes and a real feeling that we were being hurried in and out to get rid of us before a buisness conference that arrived.
Coupled with the rather nasy photo copy of a map we were given having requested one I really feel this hotel was geared more for buisnessmen than tourists. Having said all that, yes I would stay there again if there was nowhere else available but as we disliked Rotterdam compared to other parts of Holland it is most unlikely we would be returning to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoute, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We use this hotel often for our business educations and trainees.
Always 1 or more meetingrooms for a day use. No nightstays.
This 4 star hotel is not more than a 3 star hotel. No luxery at all, but basic and a little bit old fashioned.
But for car users it is easy near the exit of the expressway Utrecht-Rotterdam and free parking.
No publictransport nearby.
Not a romantic location for weekends or holidays surrounding by offices and houses.
So for meetings it is okay and they have a nice lunchbuffet with a wide choose of breadrolls, soup,salads etc. Also pastrys and puddings.
Always a good lunch and if you are lucky the terrass is open overlooking a little pond.

Toilets are not clean. (the whole day I saw te same stains on the toiletseating...)
Total impression of the lobby and meetingrooms is average.

I saw a lady with two hugh dogs (German Shepherds I think) going into one of the 2 lifts going to her room. Barking!
Lucky I didn't have that room after their stay.
Must be awful with all that hair...
It can't be normal that 2 big dogs are allowed in hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertZoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creemers, General Manager at NH Capelle, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Mr. Zoute,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We regret to read that you are not satisfied with the cleanliness and the style of the hotel. We fully agree that toilets need to be clean at all times. We will definitely focus on this point to make sure they are nice and clean.

We normally do not allow big dogs and I fully understand your comment. In this case we made an exception.

As per the first of May Tuk Tuks are available for only 1 euro. They will bring you to the train station Alexander or to the metro station 6 days in the week form early in the morning until late in the evening. This makes the use of public transport much easier.



We are glad to understand that you like the lunch quality and variety!



Thanks again for your comments; we take these very seriously.



Best regards,



Sander Creemers

Hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel has plenty of parking-spaces, although busses parked the wrong way blocked plenty of spaces reserved for cars, and there are parking-spaces 'Women only'... how's that for emancipation ;-)
When I checked, I could not help but noticing the busses just delivered 50+ japanese tourists, all checking in and trying to find their way to the room using the two (too small) elevators. The desk-clerk pulled me to the side and made sure my check-in was handled in a seperate queue than the one for this bus.

The hotel was quiet, rooms are spaciou; Overall, the hotel was dark and dull, including the rooms.
At breakfast, the bus-travelling guests were shown to a different restaurant, so breakfast was very quiet; Choice for breakfast was not limited, but the I kind of missed the English-breakfast i enjoy when staying in a hotel.... then again this was a decent light breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidierF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capelle aan den IJssel
7.2 mi away
NH Zoetermeer
NH Zoetermeer
#1 of 4 in Zoetermeer
391 reviews
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam - Nieuwerkerk
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam - N...
#1 of 1 in Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
1.1 mi away
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
#40 of 52 in Rotterdam
81 reviews
7.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Zoetermeer - Den Haag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Capelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Capelle

Property: NH Capelle
Address: Barbizonlaan 2, 2908 MA Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Capelle aan den IJssel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capelle aan den IJssel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Capelle 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Capelle hotel is conveniently located for both business travelers and tourists in Holland, with fast access to the A20 motorway. The Rotterdam Airport and major cities such as Rotterdam, Utrecht, the Hague, Gouda, and Delft are all within an easy 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Capelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing