We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent Hotel - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've stayed in this hotel numberous times and I've always found the staff to be the friendliest and most accomodating of all hotels I've stayed in. I would highly recommend this hotel for any business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael Pio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Michael Pio M,

Thank you for great comment and your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers. Your review made the entire team very proud.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    376
    66
    14
    6
See reviews for
230
366
27
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

On our recent holiday to The Netherlands, we chose the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden as our base for 3 nights. We wanted somewhere out of town to visit the many attractions in this populous coastal region of Holland. Midway between Amsterdam and Rotterdam, and close by the university town of Leiden, it proved to be everything we hoped for.

We stayed in a family room with sofabed (room 329, right at the end of the corridor), which was spacious, stylish, quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable, though the first night the room was too hot and we ended up opening the window which let in lots of traffic noise from the adjacent motorway. The next two nights were much better and we slept well. We liked the shower which was large and well designed with an area to stand out of the waterjets.

True, the hotel is a bit hard to find and at present surrounded by muddy fields while development takes place, so not a great view. But it has free underground parking, free Wi-Fi, lovely breakfast buffet and not a bad restaurant if you want a quiet night in. And easy to drive into Leiden to eat.

Service everywhere from breakfast to dinner to reception to housekeeping was great. All in all, it deserves its great reviews especially at the reasonable rates on offer. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear LiztheWhizz,

Thank you for your great review.
I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Indeed, currently they are improving the street in front of the hotel, which should all be finalized by the end of the month.

I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff, they will appreciate this very much.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back again one day.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our overall experience was really good at this Hotel. The value for money is excellent. Some of the highlights and downsides are marked below: +++ Comfort +++ Service +++ Breakfast +++ Free parking +++ Free WiFi +++ Very clean - A bit noisy - Hard to get to - Location to centre

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Robin W,

Thank so much for sharing your experiences at HGI Leiden with fellow travelers. I am very pleased to see that you have had a good time with us.
We are still working with the local authorities to improve the signage to our hotel. Unfortunately this takes so much longer than anticipated and meanwhile we advise our guests just to follow the signs CORPUS.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back again one day at the HGI Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is super, nice rooms, nice staff, very helpfull. The location is a bit odd, it is still in development and the only thing around is a museum. But maybe that will chsnge over time. Breakfast wad super with all you can wish for. Furthermore free wifi and free parking. Would I go back? Depends on the rate, now I had to pay only €70 for room and breakfadt for 2. That for sure is a bargain, I guess on businessdays I would like to pay upto €110,- a night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear PeterEijsbouts,

Thank you very much for your great review and thank you for your compliments about our staff, I will make sure to pass on your review to them all.

Indeed the hotel is situated right next to the Leiden Bioscience park and the unique CORPUS experience. The surrounding is upcoming and improving every day.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again one day here at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel itself was lovely, nice spacious rooms, large comfortable beds and a good selection of breakfast items both hot and cold.

The service was very good as usual for Holland and Leiden itself is a beautiful city.

The only downside is that the hotel is about a 30min walk into the town centre. (obviously this is reflected in the price though) This is balanced out by the bikes for hire from the hotel which is an excellent idea and very useful for getting around - it really is the only way to travel in Holland!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others as we enjoyed our stay enormously and wouldn't hesitate to go back - maybe next time in the Summer though!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussex-girl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sussex-girl21,

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for your recommendation.
Indeed, Holland is the country of the bicycles which is why have them for rent at the reception as well. To Leiden it is only a 10 minutes ride, and great for the Summer, the beach is only 5 miles away and also very easy to reach by bike.

As of March there will be a bus stop in front of the hotel with a direct connection to Leiden city centre.

Thank you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Although I already rated this hotel in August 2012, I would like to again submit a review. Always a pleasure to come to this hotel. The young enthousiastic staff gives you always a warm welcome!
A big plus is the easy accessable parking ( free for guests).
In the bathroom a seperation near the shower has been installed, that is a big improvement, this way not the complete floor of the bathroom gets wet anymore, well done!!
As said, always a pleasure to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Polarlys,

Thank you for your second great review about our hotel. I am very pleased to see you returning back to hotel again.

Indeed after listing to our guests we have made certain adjustments since the opening last year in order to improve our service. The bathroom is one of them and very recently we have upgraded our free internet for our guests to 50MB.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again next year.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A short stay on a Monday night and everthing went to plan. I arrived in the evening and after a quick check in had dinner in the restaurant, which was very good. A nice walk towards the The White House cleared the head. The room was clean and comfortable. In the morning the breakfast was fresh and tasty and the perfect start to the day. This is my third time staying at the hotel and it is maintaining its high standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jim K,

Thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor. It is great to see you returning to our hotel again and I want to thank you for your loyalty.

We all look forward to welcome you back again for a fourth stay and we will make sure to maintain the high standards you are used from us.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oegstgeest
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#6 of 16 in Leiden
652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.3 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 BH Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is an award-winning, modern hotel in Leiden, which is home to one of Europe's oldest universities. Our hotel, located in the picturesque birthplace of Rembrandt, is just ten minutes from Leiden town centre and close to Katwijk and Noordwijk beaches. Relax in a spacious guest room with signature Hilton Garden Inn amenities, including adjustable beds and complimentary WiFi. This Leiden hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pick up snacks and drinks from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, located on Leiden's Bio Science Park, offers naturally lit, flexible meeting and event space. The hotel has a private dining suite and five modern meeting rooms for up to 112 persons. Each room has complimentary WiFi access. Free parking and A/V equipment are included as standard. The adjacent CORPUS Congress Centre and Bio Science Park form the unique components for successfully organising large meetings, product presentations or multi-day congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden Oegstgeest, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing