We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food and good value”
Review of Nabab Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nabab Tandoori
Ranked #43 of 66 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, good food and good value”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had been looking for a decent place to eat on the island and was not disappointed- banter with the waiter was entertaining and food was excellent and good value- highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not recommended”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

me and my wife went for a night out to have an indian unfortunately it took forever to get the food. As soon as it arrived it was luke warm and the food taste very salty. would not recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Easily the best curry house on the island."”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I know that isn't saying a great deal considering the size of the Isle of Wight, but this really was one of the best Indian dining experiences I've ever had. The waiters were friendly enough, the prices were reasonable (especially being a place where you can bring your own booze) and the food was consistently great.

All the starters we had (a medley of bhajis and meat) were excellent, and that standard didn't fall when the mains arrived either; in fact, they actually raised the bar, delivering what remains to this day the best Chicken Tikka Massala I have ever had (it comes with easy recommendation). The other dishes (vegetable curry, chicken curry, and a prawn dish) were also lovely (rich, great use of herbs and spices).

The only thing I can really fault about my visit is that the tables are slightly cramped. Apart from that, there was nothing to hinder it being one of the best Indian meals I've ever had.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I enjoyed food and service here .overall very satisfied . waiters very helpfull . ....................................................................................................................

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I love curry and have been using the Nabab for 18 years, ever since I moved to Newport. I always find the service excellent and the food lovely. I have been to other restaurants locally but always prefer the Nabab. That said, every so often there is a change of chef and that can make a difference to the taste of the dishes. However, on the couple of occasions when I have not liked something it has been quickly replaced.
I find the food tasty and authentic. I have been to India a few times (not beach) and gone off the beaten track where I have had Thalis for 30 rupees, and the Nabab food is just as delicious as all the food I had in India.
Cheap-ish, cheerful and VFM I would recommend the Nabab to any of my friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hevcbsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nabab Tandoori also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Nabab Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing