We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb food, the only place for curry on the Isle of Wight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Palace

Bengal Palace
Ranked #32 of 66 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food, the only place for curry on the Isle of Wight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Have been coming here for several years. Always impressed with the delicious, mouthwatering dishes.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank CharleeCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    2
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice food helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

4 of us went here for an evening meal, we asked the waiter for some suggestions and he cam eup with the great idea of having 4 different dishes and sharing, all 4 dishes where cooked to perfection very tasty and large chunks of meat. would go again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Decision!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My Boyfriend & I wanted to go out for a meal. It took us all week to decide where to go... finally we decided on Bengal Palace. What a bad decision that was!! When we arrived we were shown to a table in the corner and given two menus. In a couple of seconds we realised how cold it was in there! Some people were sat with their coats on, I don't think they have heard of central heating!! We were then asked what drinks we would like and did we want poppadoms? The two cokes we received were flat and we waited at least 15 minutes until we received the poppadoms. The waitress did have to ask 'it was two you ordered right?' Very unprofessional! While we were deciding on our main course we started on the poppadoms, we quickly realised how soft they were. On the plus side the mango chutney was nice! We chose our main courses and waited patiently for them to arrive. Just before they did our plates and chutneys were taken away and a very cold 'hot plate' arrived on our table. I thought the idea was to keep the meals hot but this one seemed to have been kept in a freezer! My Boyfriends main course arrived and I was told mine would follow. Five minutes later when his was cold I received mine. No spoon in that one though... I was obviously supposed to just tip it onto my plate! Once we had dished up our meals I soon realised my rice was cold and stodgy, the main was too hot and spicy for what it actually was and the bombay potatoes were rock hard and cold. My Boyfriends main was the same as what he usually has even though he ordered something entirely different. Not sure what happened there! His Naan Bread was nice though! Oh and another note... be careful of the cutlery my spoon had what looked like a bogey on it!! After giving up on my meal we sat and waited patiently for our plates to be taken away. This took at least half an hour, baring in mind there were only four other tables occupied I thought this was very extreme!! All members of staff did notice we had finished a number of times but one was more interested in packing glasses away, another just wandering around with no purpose and the other, well, she was too busy wiping her nose on her sleeve!! We thought it was best to exit before I complained so we went up to pay our bill. Nobody asked first or last whether everything was OK with our food. We were charged £30 for the worst meal I'd ever eaten and were asked if we wanted some 'choccies' with our bill. No thanks I'm not 5 years old! We were glad to get back in the car and get as far away as possible. One place we will never visit again and would definitely not recommend!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DoubleB4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brothers birthday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere in the Bengal Palace is very friendly and the food was very nice I like the fact the waiter asked you what you would like and also he was very polite would definitely use again

Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a Fantastic place to eat, the service is second to none, waiters go out of their way to please, the food, have to say one of the best curries we've ever had, our Daughter wasn't sure which curry to pick, waiter asked what her taste preference was, from that he suggested from the menu for her and got it spot on, and when the bill came I had to double take, less than £45 for the three of us all being Adult portions plus drinks, would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Palace also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Bengal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing