We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland”
Review of The Eight Bells

The Eight Bells
Ranked #20 of 67 Restaurants in Newport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Eight Bells is a family-orientated pub in the heart of the village of Carisbrooke. Serving popular pub classics and daily specials, all made in-house. Vegetarian and wheat free options available, a dedicated childrens menu, plus a selection of yummy hot and cold desserts. Two-meat carvery available Sundays 12-3pm. Served with crispy roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and fresh veg. Great outdoor garden, including play area for children, set aside Carisbrooke pond. Plentiful parking and wheelchair accessible.
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Service adequate. Food quite good and well presented. Atmosphere, what atmosphere? Not impressed but ok if you have a young family as there is plenty of outdoor space.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    66
    40
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this short and sweet, great food and lovely customer service. beautiful new interior and fantastic staff
highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Graham1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Really great food and a really great atmosphere, was served by a lovely young man who was very welcoming and helpful. I had the BBQ chicken and my partner had a BLT wrap and it was really good quality food. We had a lovely afternoon and would highly recommend the eight bells

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panama0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We hadn't got round to visiting the Eight Bells for a couple of years, and now wish we hadn't left it so long. We popped in one rainy Monday lunchtime. One of us had the butterfly chicken breast off the menu, and one of us the braised steak off the specials board. Both delicious, good portions and very good value. The homemade desserts were just as good, and the homemade cheesecake wonderful! Had a pint of Marstons Pedigree New World with the meal, and that too was highly recommendable. Extensive menu with food all day, and big seating area out back, with lake. We can't give anything less than 10 out of 10 for the meal, and won't leave it anywhere as long for the next!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank idclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice clean Pub food and drink was good value for money. Nice out side space for young children. plenty of car spaces would recommend this pub for couple's and family alike

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing