We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy clean and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy clean and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at Castle Lodge because of the excellent reviews. They are all justified and to add more we'll I can't. Avril pulls out of all the stops to make you feel welcome and explains all you need to know about breakfast your room and allandsu sundry really.

The room was number 3 tastefully decorated spotless and with good in room facilities, you wouldn't need to ask for anything. The breakfast is a full English or you can choose other options, plenty of toast good coffee too. My wife had tea and said it was spot on.

Parking at front is plentyfull just a tip it's a one way street Castle lodge on right if you miss it you will have to go back around again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Sharpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
41
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you are considering a few days away on this lovely island, I suggest you do not need to look any further than Castle Lodge for accommodation. The location is ideal as you can reach any part of the island within a 30 minute drive. Parking is immediately outside the hotel and off-street. We checked in as a family of four and Avril made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.

We had the family suite which was made up of two good sized bedrooms a foyer and bathroom c/w shower. I was particularly impressed with the set up as this meant the kids had their own room (both with DVD/TV sets) and wireless internet connection was also provided. The rooms were very clean and were provided with soft towels in the bathroom.

Avril was the perfect host and nothing was never too much trouble; her knowledge of the island is amazing! The breakfasts provided were very well cooked and the portions excellent. There was an extensive choice too.

Too good to be true? Why don't you try it yourself!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonB1969HullUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Castle Lodge whilst visiting my brother in Cowes and it was an interesting day! Mid afternoon we were informed that a leak had been discovered in the toilet and it was not going to be a quick job. Avril spent ages phoning around other B&Bs for us to see if anywhere else could accommodate us if we weren't prepared to accept the room as they were full, but very little was available. On seeing the room we were happy that the leak was manageable and we were happy to stay; a good decision. The room was very comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I cannot praise the hosts enough for the efforts they took to ensure that we were not put out any more than absolutely necessary.

The B&B itself is excellently located, close to Newport and therefore a good base for exploring the island. Given a personal touch with posters from Isle of Wight festivals in the main dining hall this is a B&B that makes the effort - and it pays off. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter12171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Our host was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very enjoyable. The rooms are of a good size, clean and soft towels are supplied. The parking was very easy - wonderful for the streets of Isle of Wight.
The only downside was that Internet was not available in our room and I had to go up to reception to get a good connection.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire. UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked just one night at Castle Lodge to extend our pre booked self catering holiday so that we didn't need to travel on a busy Monday. The B & B was spotless and our room very comfortable. Avril is a warm welcoming host and does a fantastic breakfast! The location is nice and quiet and it is an easy walk to Carisbrooke Castle. Beware if you walk into Newport and fancy some chips - do not buy from the first chippy you come to on the left - the chips were awful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was my second stay at the Castle Lodge, my wife's first, it won't be our last.
The room was extremely clean and very well presented, the breakfast was great.
The facility is deserving of it's AA rating.Once again, thank you Avril, for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Both times I have stayed here the rooms have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saints52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the castle lodge B&B for 5 nights during the Isle of Wight festival, Avril the owner sent us a text with some travel tips during our journey down from the midlands which was very handy, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with our room as we were told it was a small room but it was a perfect size! Our room was spotlessly clean!!!! There was no breakfast being served over the festival weekend, but there are cafés close by so wasn't a problem for us. We would definitely stay at castle lodge again and would recommend any festival goer to stop here instead of camping! It's just a 25-30 minute from the main stage!
We will hopefully be back next year!! Thanks again Avril for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 17 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Quay Hotel
Newport Quay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: 54 Castle Road, Newport PO30 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Isle Of Wight/Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing