We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Break - Home Away From Home”
Review of West Standen Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Standen Farm
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Break - Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our first time staying at the farm and have already booked again for next year. Sally and Edwin were so welcoming along with their dogs Grace and Cuthbert. Our daughters (4 years and 18 months) loved helping Sally with the daily morning farm animal feeding and collecting eggs from the chicken were highlights of the trip. We stayed in the beautifully renovated stables and were very comfortable. We had family and friends from the Island visit us and they loved the place too. Great central location to all attractions and shops. This is our new home away from home when visiting the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JeffMcL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a great time at the farm and would definitely go back. We had a very warm welcome from Sally and Edwin and a meet and greet with the farm animals too :) The daily morning farm animal feeding was a massive highlight for our kids (3yrs and 1yr) with chickens, horses, calves, lambs, pigs and even goats. We stayed in the beautifully renovated stables and were very comfortable. Great central location to all attractions, seemed to be 20 mins away at most things. Black gang chine and steam trains were a hit!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just returned home after a short break in the Carriage House. I took my two daughters and my two grand daughters to the farm not really knowing what to expect. I chose the perfect accommodation in a perfect setting, with perfect hosts, Sally and Edwin. Every morning accompanied by Grace, and Cuthbert (the dogs) Sally, who has the patience of a saint, does the daily feeding round of the lambs, chickens, pigs, calves and ponies with the help of the children. I have to say Im positive the adults enjoy the feed round as much as the children.

The accommodation was immaculately clean, well kept and well equipped with a private garden including a bar-b-que. We are not easily pleased, but could not fault any part of our holiday. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our second stay on the farm and we had a brilliant time. While the weather was pretty cold for the end of May our 2-year old had a fantastic time feeding the animals and helping Ed and Sally every morning.

The Carriage House was lovely with everything we needed and lovely and cosy on the chilly evenings!

This was our second visit and we will definitely be back next year. Our son didn't want to leave and it took some negotiation to get him in the car on Friday morning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafc_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Beautiful setting, great accommodation (we stayed at the Carriage House), interesting working farm with lots of animals but best of all a very warm welcome by hosts Edwin and Sally with their lovely dog Grace. Or three year old daughter loved the morning rounds feeding the chickens, pigs, ponies, sheep, lambs and goats. She still talks about Sally, Edwin and the animals at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottinghill_w11_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It was a very chilly week at half term, so the warmth of the Carriage House was extremely welcome!
The property was excellent for our family (2 adults, 2 young girls and there would have been room for 2 more) and the girls had a fantastic time.
We chose the farm specifically because they could get involved in the mornings and Edwin and Sally did not let us down. Every morning they were out, letting the children collect eggs and feed the animals. It is a real bonus and something that sets this apart from other similar properties.
The setting is beautiful and we would love to return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just back from a week in the stable property on the West Standard Farm.

The accommodation is first class but what really sets this farm apart is your hosts Edwin and Sally, our children loved doing the morning rounds with them, feeding goats, chickens and lambs.

If you are thinking of staying at a farmhouse, stay at this one.

We hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
1.4 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 16 in Newport
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#2 of 16 in Newport
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Newport Quay Hotel
Newport Quay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newport
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Standen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Standen Farm

Property: West Standen Farm
Address: West Standen Farm Blackwater Road, Newport PO30 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Newport
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
West Standen Farm Isle Of Wight/Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing