We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of Medina Quay

Medina Quay
Ranked #28 of 66 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Medina Quay is situated by the River Medina in Newport. We have lovely views overlooking the river and a garden to enjoy too. Food served daily, starting from 6.30am during the week and 7am at weekends. Full table service is offered when dining with us. Come on down and enjoy.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Really good value lunch menu. Very friendly helpful staff. There are a good selection of wines. We shared starters of chicken gorgon s and mushrooms which were tasty. We had the chicken ham and mushroom pie which is really delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayneleephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    68
    52
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Service.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Medina Quay is in the Table Table chain attached to the Premier Inn. I hope the day we went they were just having a off day?

The staff did not seem to be listening to simple requests, often mishearing and having to be asked again.

The waitresses forgot who had ordered what food and when directed to the appropirate person they were rude, brought a glass of water instead of a jug, brought a coffee that been ordered, so late that we were leaving when it arrived. The waitresses seemed to have forgotton their manners.

The food was poor quality and the fish was served upside down. This should have been a lovely family meal on Good Friday, but it was very dissapointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMRCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Used this restaurant twice whilst staying at the Premier Inn next door. It's a Table Table restaurant owned by the same chain.

For Dinner it was the usual type of menu which is lacking the variety and difference that a Table Table used to have. Having said that the meals we had we're good although portion size a little small. The Kids Eat Free deal also comes with lots of terms and conditions which is disappointing. Friendly staff albeit slightly slow service bearing in mind the restaurant was empty when we visited.

For breakfast it's the usual great Premier Inn buffet breakfast which is all you can eat. You also serve yourself the hot food which I prefer. Have noticed though the small price increases that keep happening. Individually it's getting expensive, but with 3 kids all eating breakfast free it comes out as great value for a family.

Helpful?
Thank davidjv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Service with a smile.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had Dinner once and Breakfast three mornings at this restaurant, and we are always a bit weary when it is a chain, but we had great service and great food. The breakfast was lovely and I asked for porridge to be made and that was not a problem at all, one of the nicest breakfasts we have had on our travels, would definitely eat at this restaurant again. We stayed in the premier inn next to it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommyBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cowes
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breakfast :)”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I visit every couple of weeks for breakfast on my way into Newport, for 2 reasons;
1. It's like being on holiday
2. It's fantastic value at £8.25 all-you-can-eat!
Plenty of choice, decent coffee and pleasant surroundings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Regandeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medina Quay also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Medina Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing