We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but worth waiting for!”
Review of The Blue Door

The Blue Door
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

Visited today (5th July 2021) around lunchtime, and the cafe was REALLY busy, however, the food here is excellent and so worth waiting for!
Service always comes with a smile, and the food portions never disappoint.

My party witnessed one customer complaining about her food today (I see that she has given a bad review about it). The staff handled the way they were spoken to unbelievably. I’m not sure I could have kept my cool after what she said to them!

So if you are in Newport, (or even if you’re not!), visit the Blue Door Cafe - you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank nicolawolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2021

Sat and waited an hour for food. When it eventually arrived there was packaging in it. When I took it back to complain I was told it was nothing to do with them effectively accusing me of planting it. I also complained that my sons wrap was cold and not hot. The chef came out and said it was hot (so my son is a lier?) Implied I was being silly for returning my food. Apparently we waited so long because they were busy (no they were not) dreadful service there are much better places to spend my money. Only given it one circle because it won't let me do none.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank Mish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

Went for coffee and scones with my brother on the Thursday, and enjoyed it so much we returned with our parents for breakfast the next day! The scones were amazing, still warm when we got them, and our breakfasts were really tasty. Staff were lovely with our pup. Thoroughly enjoyed our visits and will come back when we are on the island again.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank lghsmns97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2021

Would highly recommend this place,excellent menu, friendly service and probably the best breakfast/brunch I’ve ever had

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank jimmymG7574WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

More by the dismissive manner my friendly words of feedback were met. 'You are the only person in 10 years to complain'! I don't think so! Because the place was on the market last year one can only conclude they have given up. The food tells the same story.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Voyager28591578696, Owner at The Blue Door, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you for your comments. However, you are missing some words with regards to my reply - I actually said you were the FIRST person in 10 years to complain ABOUT THE BREAKFAST (which according to you was due to an overdone egg). I did not find your "friendly words" at all friendly and flicking your egg with your knife to show me was not what I would have called friendly feedback.
For your information, we have most certainly not given up and I find that comment incredibly hurtful and totally untrue - we and our team work incredibly hard and like many have had a very tough year and are once again rebuilding. We will continue to work hard as all do in hospitality.
I apologised about your overdone egg at the time and stated that we would have recooked it for you no problem had you told us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Door also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
 
 

Been to The Blue Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.