We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of The Stag

The Stag
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stag
Ranked #5 of 16 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

For years this pub has been very bad and although I live nearby I paid two visits for meals and gave up. I wanted to see how the new owners had changed the place
I could not believe when I went it how lovely it all now is..A completely different place. Food and ambience very much improved. Lovely choice on menu
We had an enjoyable meal here on a Friday evening.
yes a glass of wine is a little dearer than some other places, but it was well worth the extra
money, as very good. Sauce sachets do not bother me either, as they are hygienic and save
waste.
If you went in the bad old days, give it another try.
Unfortunately I am working away at present, otherwise I would be eating there regularly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Single room is a broom cupboard, dark, no windows, paper thin walls, freezing and noisy. Apparently rated 4* by AA.
Just book a double room for single occupancy

Pub super
GREAT ATMOSPHERE
Hospitality super
Staff very friendly

Room Tip: Book a double room with single occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiebassett66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After a long, grumpy drive to Isle of Wight I'd booked The Stag on lastminute. Arrived, friendly reception, no hassle whatsoever , nice, clean comfortable rooms, great service, had a couple of drinks with a nice view and retired into a very comfortable bed. Woke up in the morning, fantastic shower (important!) and went down for a well cooked, tasty breakfast with great service again. Bad/Poor/Lazy service really annoys me so I always make sure I comment when you're treated well and The Stag did exceptionally in every area. I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al1975Nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a table at the Stag for 4 people to celebrate a special anniversary on a Friday night in April dining at 7.30 pm,we were the only diners in the restaurant there was no atmosphere at all,the furniture looked very tatty and nothing seemed to match.All the cutlery was brought to the table in a battered aluminium bucket in which were sachets of tomato ketchup,it was more akin to a transport café than a fine dining restaurant, even some flowers on the table or even a candle would have enhanced the whole experience.
The food itself was ok and the staff were very pleasant,just a shame that more effort is not made to differentiate between lunchtimes and evening dining- very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I went here the other evening for a drink after an after dinner walk. The wine was lovely and my partner enjoyed his Doomar. The service was exquisite, served by Craig and atmosphere lovely. We have eaten here on a few occasions and the food it divine. A great little pub to visit weather for a meal or just a drink after a walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We did not know what to expect as the photos of the hotel made it look quite new. The room we had on the first floor was quiet, large and airy. The ensuite was of good size with a good shower. I am always wary when staying at pubs, being in a room over the bar, as I expect a lot of noise. I need not have worried as It was so quiet, could not even hear the traffic on the main road nearby. We ate in the restaurant and the food, that was part of the deal was really good. I regretted having the food deal, as although it was extremely good, the specials board was brilliant. There was also a couple of good cask ales in the bar. If I return this way I will definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Bill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just had two nights here on a business trip.

Loved this place - the room was lovely. The staff were great hosts and great fun (Craig & Matt). Nothing was too much trouble for them. Even arranged an early breakfast to the room, made a late night sandwich (which was delicious) for myself and a colleague.

Full cooked breakfast was fab too - local, high quality produce.

I will most definitely stay here when ever visiting the Isle of Wight on business. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
35 reviews
1.6 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 16 in Newport
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Beech Road Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Newport
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Newport Quay Hotel
Newport Quay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newport
156 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Woodvale
The Woodvale
#7 of 28 in Cowes
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#2 of 16 in Newport
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag

Address: 2 Cowes Road, Newport PO30 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stag 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stag Isle Of Wight/Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing