We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience!”
Review of Newport Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Quay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is in a very good spot, as Newport is the heart of the Isle of Wight and the hotel is located 10 minutes from the bus station. The room was clean and tidy and so the bathroom. The breakfast was very good and it had good choices. The owners, Martin especially, are very friendly and often came up to talk during breakfast. The only issue I had was that the wi-fi didnt work properly with my computer, but it didnt bother me much because my other devices worked; I told the owner and he said that he was going to take care of it. All and all, it was a nice visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stayed at the Newport Quay several times before with both the current owners and the previous ones and had good experiences every time but this time we were disappointed!

We had to settle the bill on arrival whilst we understand the reasons why we still think this is not good practice.
We went to our usual room to freshen up only to discover that the shower was blocked so the water was not draining away . The shower was then cut short and my partner unblocked it. We too found the light above the mirror not working and as i pulled the cord to turn it on the mirror fell off the wall again my partner put it back the best way he could. Also the decor in the room was looking shabby. The cups provided for making tea and coffee didn't seem to have been cleaned properly.
Going to breakfast the following morning whilst the choice was excellent the portions seemed to have shrunk compaired to previous years in fact by mid morning we were feeling hungry.
Courtyard noise late at night was disturbing.
We found the hospitality lacking we did not see Martin or Suki apart from on arrival to make our payment. Whilst the staff were polite no interest in the guests was shown.
We agree with a previous guest about the kitchen door we too listened to there conversation over breakfast on both days which is unprofessional. Our room was above the kitchen and cooking smells filtered up through the open windows making the room smell like a kitchen.
It is a real shame as we have had good experiences in the past sadly this time we felt let down it is safe to say we won't be staying there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A very nice hotel,reasonably priced,excellent breakfast the only downside was wi Fi not very good close to all otheramenities,helpful staf!even took me without booking, would of liked to stay longer and if in area again would do so,f

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des2duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here whilst on business in the area.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and well equipped and quiet at night. I slept extremely well which is all I really need whilst working away.
Breakfast was really good and the staff very friendly and helpful.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nice hotel. Small, but cosy room. Clean & tidy, no fuss, no frills. Very friendly, good location, excellent breakfast. Parking can be found on the road outside the hotel. Good for road links to rest of island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Newport Quay Hotel during our recent visit to the Isle of Wight. We were really impressed with the overall experience, quality of service, rooms, facilities and the hospitality, which were impeccable. The setup is very homely with every element of comfort for guests. I had the best baby sleep after a tiring adventurous day and not to mention the bed was very comfortable and a dream to sleep on. The hotel service was professional and unobtrusive. The owners were friendly and helpful with excellent knowledge about the area which they were more than happy to share with us. As we were visiting the island for the first time, their excellent knowledge came in handy and proved helpful. Breakfast the next morning was amazing, which also has vegetarian options to choose from. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to all the attractions around the Isle. It's a superb pace to retreat to and unwind on a perfect holiday. Martin and Suki who run it along with their team were excellent. Thank you guys for making our holiday shine!
We highly recommended the Newport Quay Hotel and look forward to visiting again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minakshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Mine host has an excellent grin!
Very good service in terms of parking advice -the hotel is quite central, and the parking outside is pay and display. They took some trouble to advise us about how to overpay in the evening before restrictions expire, and how the parking attendants are understanding enough to allow you credit the next morning from 8 am -it takes faith to believe it, but it's true.
Our ground floor room had a thin ceiling, and walking talking (and snoring!) in the room above unfortunately reached us.
An interesting, historic building.
A very well-cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catzzndogzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newport
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.1 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 15 in Newport
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Beech Road Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Newport
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#2 of 15 in Newport
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Quay Hotel

Address: 41 Quay Street, Newport PO30 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Quay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated 200m from the centre close to restaurants, shops; ideally positioned to explore the island. All bedrooms are en suite; both of the four poster rooms have airspa baths. There is a small courtyard, a period Victorian lounge and breakfast room. We are proud of our English breakfast and promise you a friendly welcome and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Quay Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing