We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Quay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was very happy with everything. I had a single room which was on the small side but well equipped, clean and with a comfortable bed. There was an excellent choice of freshly cooked food for breakfast. The hotel has a lot of character and the welcome was warm and small requests ( e.g extra t bags! ) Were responded to The atmosphere was more like a B and B but as a solo female traveller I was happy with this.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
43
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, lovely people, top breakfast, company paid so excellent value for money. Central location was great.
They even helped sort my impromptu day of sightseeing.
Only downside was the wifi. Kept logging me out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixenvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This represented excellent value for money. The owner was very friendly and helpful, The room was very nice, with every comfort. Everywhere was clean. The breakfast, freshly cooked to order excellent. A good location also, very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and i booked this hotel thanks to a last minute cancellation. We were delighted, the location is great, not far to walk to bus station. The hotel owner was lovely and extremley accomodating. The room was super clean and everything you need is there, hair dryer, toiletries, tv, wifi, kettle with coffee/tea and so on. All in all we were very pleased, though of course we went in high season and during festival time so it was a little pricey but in line with the rest of the hotels at this time of year. The bathroom was massive and newly fitted. We were very pleased as i am pretty fussy about hotel bathrooms. Breakfast was delcious, the produced used is fantastic and the service outstanding. I look forward to returning to this little gem of a hotel next year and may even take some of my friends. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is in a very good spot, as Newport is the heart of the Isle of Wight and the hotel is located 10 minutes from the bus station. The room was clean and tidy and so the bathroom. The breakfast was very good and it had good choices. The owners, Martin especially, are very friendly and often came up to talk during breakfast. The only issue I had was that the wi-fi didnt work properly with my computer, but it didnt bother me much because my other devices worked; I told the owner and he said that he was going to take care of it. All and all, it was a nice visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stayed at the Newport Quay several times before with both the current owners and the previous ones and had good experiences every time but this time we were disappointed!

We had to settle the bill on arrival whilst we understand the reasons why we still think this is not good practice.
We went to our usual room to freshen up only to discover that the shower was blocked so the water was not draining away . The shower was then cut short and my partner unblocked it. We too found the light above the mirror not working and as i pulled the cord to turn it on the mirror fell off the wall again my partner put it back the best way he could. Also the decor in the room was looking shabby. The cups provided for making tea and coffee didn't seem to have been cleaned properly.
Going to breakfast the following morning whilst the choice was excellent the portions seemed to have shrunk compaired to previous years in fact by mid morning we were feeling hungry.
Courtyard noise late at night was disturbing.
We found the hospitality lacking we did not see Martin or Suki apart from on arrival to make our payment. Whilst the staff were polite no interest in the guests was shown.
We agree with a previous guest about the kitchen door we too listened to there conversation over breakfast on both days which is unprofessional. Our room was above the kitchen and cooking smells filtered up through the open windows making the room smell like a kitchen.
It is a real shame as we have had good experiences in the past sadly this time we felt let down it is safe to say we won't be staying there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

A very nice hotel,reasonably priced,excellent breakfast the only downside was wi Fi not very good close to all otheramenities,helpful staf!even took me without booking, would of liked to stay longer and if in area again would do so,f

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des2duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
0 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
0.1 mi away
One Holyrood B&B
One Holyrood B&B
#1 of 17 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#2 of 17 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Quay Hotel

Property: Newport Quay Hotel
Address: 41 Quay Street, Newport PO30 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Quay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated 200m from the centre close to restaurants, shops; ideally positioned to explore the island. All bedrooms are en suite; both of the four poster rooms have airspa baths. There is a small courtyard, a period Victorian lounge and breakfast room. We are proud of our English breakfast and promise you a friendly welcome and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Quay Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing