We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cosy”
Review of Newport Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Quay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small but cosy”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is well situated for all purposes in Newport,it offers ground floor as well as 1st and 2nd floor rooms. I found room 3 to be small but cosy with good standards of furnishings and a very comfortable bed, if I had to find fault itwould be the pillows were not good enough for a 4 star rating and since the bathroom was on a slightly lower level than the main bedroom a short handrail would be advisable. The hotel only offers breakfast which was of a good standard
and there is a very good pub diner ( The Bargeman ) only five minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 3 somewhat small and bathroom is down a 3 step stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    59
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
46
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

By the time you've walked in the large front door, you have already met the owners who go the extra mile!. Big smiles and a confident welcome to make you feel at home, then shown to our room, a fabulous room with a kingsize four poster bed and a whirlpool bath, don't forget your favourite bath bubbles!! After a great nights sleep, breakfast is served in the dining room, we both had a full English, plenty of coffee or tea and toast. Ready for the day ahead. This hotel was so pleasant I can't recommend it enough. We will certainly return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose room 12 It's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned home after staying here with my husband for 2 nights. Warm and very friendly welcome. Smooth and quick check in. Very happy to have been offered discounted parking ticket for use around the town for the whole stay.

Room was small but still had plenty of space for our things. Plenty drawers and hanging space etc. Bathroom was lovely with a wonderful power shower and a lovely air spar bath. Four poster bed was very comfortable as was the bedding and pillows.

Breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and we were always asked if we wanted any more...

Staff very friendly and very helpful.

Central location was fantastic.

Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 11 - on the ground floor and off the street so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WARREN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was very happy with everything. I had a single room which was on the small side but well equipped, clean and with a comfortable bed. There was an excellent choice of freshly cooked food for breakfast. The hotel has a lot of character and the welcome was warm and small requests ( e.g extra t bags! ) Were responded to The atmosphere was more like a B and B but as a solo female traveller I was happy with this.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, lovely people, top breakfast, company paid so excellent value for money. Central location was great.
They even helped sort my impromptu day of sightseeing.
Only downside was the wifi. Kept logging me out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixenvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This represented excellent value for money. The owner was very friendly and helpful, The room was very nice, with every comfort. Everywhere was clean. The breakfast, freshly cooked to order excellent. A good location also, very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and i booked this hotel thanks to a last minute cancellation. We were delighted, the location is great, not far to walk to bus station. The hotel owner was lovely and extremley accomodating. The room was super clean and everything you need is there, hair dryer, toiletries, tv, wifi, kettle with coffee/tea and so on. All in all we were very pleased, though of course we went in high season and during festival time so it was a little pricey but in line with the rest of the hotels at this time of year. The bathroom was massive and newly fitted. We were very pleased as i am pretty fussy about hotel bathrooms. Breakfast was delcious, the produced used is fantastic and the service outstanding. I look forward to returning to this little gem of a hotel next year and may even take some of my friends. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
13 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
4.3 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
47 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Quay Hotel

Property: Newport Quay Hotel
Address: 41 Quay Street, Newport PO30 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Quay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated 200m from the centre close to restaurants, shops; ideally positioned to explore the island. All bedrooms are en suite; both of the four poster rooms have airspa baths. There is a small courtyard, a period Victorian lounge and breakfast room. We are proud of our English breakfast and promise you a friendly welcome and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Quay Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing