We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've stayed in worse places...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calverts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calverts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I've stayed in worse places...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

... but not many.

This hotel is ideally located for visiting the centre of Newport. However, it suffers from a lack of parking facilities. There is room to park outside if you are willing to pay the extortionate parking prices - although it's free between 6pm and 8am. There's also a Long Stay car park about 5 - 10 minutes walk away, which is a bit cheaper.

There is a faded sign above the door to the hotel that says "By Royal Appointment to Her Majesty Queen Victoria" and this hotel has much of the character and quirks found in old Victorian buildings.

My room (9) was comfortable, although in need of some maintenance. The sloping floor caused the bedside drawer to constantly slide open; the door handle was hanging off and the sealant around the bath (no shower) looked like it had been applied by a four year-old. The decor looked like it hadn't changed in thirty years.

The view from my window was of the building next door... about 8 feet away.

The weather was quite warm when I stayed (Tuesday and Wednesday night), but fortunately the room didn't get too hot - a beneficial side effect of the closeness of the building next door preventing any sunlight actually getting in. However, it was still warm enough in the room that the window needed to be open as there was no air conditioning (obviously) and no fan was provided in the room.

The noise of the seagulls who kept me awake throughout much of Tuesday night, was only surpassed by the racket of the drunken youths the following night, shouting and screaming their way down the road at 2am having fallen out of some nightclub somewhere.

I could get a good signal on the free WiFi that the hotel offered, but unfortunately, it refused to actually work and let me connect to the internet - and besides, who uses WEP encryption nowadays, anyway? The thick Victorian walls also prevented my EE dongle from getting a usable signal.

On the plus side, the bed was quite comfortable, there was plenty of hot water and the telly worked. The dining room was plush and breakfast was adequate and was quickly served - having said that, there were only two of us in there at the time!

The only staff that I met (breakfast waiter and the receptionist) were both pleasant and polite.

Overall, it probably wasn't too bad, but by today's standards and expectations, this hotel is sadly lagging behind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    25
    32
    42
See reviews for
11
42
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Believe it or not, this place used to be one of the top places to go on the IOW many many years ago, i'm talking like 30 years or so now. Was decorated inside a couple of years ago, but whenever in walk past here, the bar is always dead, and i mean dead as in no one in there ! !

Could do with someone taking over with some money to really give it a face lift throughout and bring it back to what it once was. Many many better places to both stay and drink than this nowadays in Newport i'm afraid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatesy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently, after seeing some awful reviews was very nervous. However we found it a nice little hotel - yes a little dated but if you are looking for somewhere to stay for one or two nights for cheap this hotel is absolutely fine. Staff were also very helpful and breakfast was good too! Don't listen to much to the bad reviews, I think some of those people were expecting too much for what they paid! The rooms were tidy and clean and beds are very comfy. Would recommend for a short stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having worked all over the country during the last 3 years and staying in multiple hotels each week this has got to be the worst hotel i have stayed in. The paint was pealing from the walls, the towels should have been white but after years of washing had a brown tinge, the bedding was old and faded and the bathroom was a disgrace. (i stayed in room 19 )

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Unfriendly booking staff.dont know how to operate card machine!!!accuse of FRAUD!!! when tried make booking with card!saying gave false address!!stayed here in past ok .NEVER AGAIN!!LOST GOOD CUSTOMER

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and birthday. After reading the reviews was very worried.

The staff were fantastic. The food was delicious. The room was ok, the bed was lovely and there was hot water.

Loved that they organised the ferry bookings, which were included in the fee.

With regards to the parking, the hotel doesn't have any, there was loads of on street parking very close and 2 car parks less than 5 mins walk away. We paid for a 4 day visitor pass (under £18). This covered all carparks on the island that showed the 71000 code.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend with the note that it's a bit on the basic side but if you're only using as a base to explore the island you don't need luxury.

I will use again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Where do I start this hotel is complete garbage no hot water no heating . Also pidgeons wake u up everyday . Bell ringing practise on Monday an Thursday .cant sleep due to Yates opening late on Wednesdays Fridays and Saturdays ,parkings a nightmare had a ticket an fine , beds roll down when sleeping thought I was sleeping in the titanic . Nice Tv tho , bar downstairs is expensive staff are nice breakfast is nice good luck

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
6.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
3.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calverts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calverts Hotel

Property: Calverts Hotel
Address: 27 Quay Street, Newport PO30 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calverts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calverts Hotel Newport
Calverts Hotel Isle Of Wight/Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing