We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location good staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very clean hotel. Great location for exploring the whole of the island as central. Next door restaurant also good. Staff in the inn very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again when returning to the island.

Room Tip: View across harbour good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We came down from the Southampton ferry at East Cowes and, if coming this way, follow the main road onto Newport and look for the large Premier Inn sign to the right, maybe half a mile before the large roundabout. Be aware you can't see the actual hotel from here but turn right and you'll come to it at the end of the side road. There's ample parking, just get a pass from reception and it should be free for the duration of your stay.

The hotel is in a fairly quiet location by the river and a park/playing fields. River view is more enticing when the tide is in. We enjoyed breakfast and a couple of evening meals in the adjacent Medina Quay Table Table. Staff were friendly throughout our stay.

We walked along the main road into town and it took around 15 minutes. We found though, that if you walk along the river from just to the side of the hotel, you can cover it in half the time. Osborne House is only a few minutes drive away towards Cowes.

Overall, definitely recommended as a base for exploring this enjoyable island.

Room Tip: River view side, away from the car park, may be slightly quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel up to the usual Premier Inn standards; nothing fancy but dependable, with a good breakfast service at the Table Table restaurant next door and helpful staff. Parking free with a permit. The hotel is situated on a riverside with half the rooms overlooking this, the other half overlooking the car park. Fairly quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Matley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is great to explore the I.O.W it is central to the island and is very good for food etc.. The river view is a nice touch nothing spectacular but is very nice. The big but is the wake up calls you may get from people from above walking around or the people in the corridoor as sound proofing seems to be limited. Puting that aside beds are clean and comfortable staff are friendly and hotel is very clean

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Perfectly fine Premier Inn in good location but make sure you use the correct postcode if using satnav - the one for the inn is not the one to use and the right one isn't currently obvious on the website or on the confirmation email.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just one nights stay, but it suited our needs well.

Found the staff upon our arrival as friendly and helpful, our room was fine although the view from the window overlooked the front of the building to the carpark and was quite uninspiring.

In our family room we had a double and two single beds which was adequate. Slight criticism, It would of been nice to have a sidetable and lamp on each of the single beds. There was only just one chair in the room. This certainly felt like a standard room with a couple of extra beds fetched in to accommodate.

We choose to eat elsewhere instead of using the nearby pub, but enjoyed an impressive full breakfast the next morning there. I didn't realise that up to two kids under 16 eat for free with a full paying adult - which was an unexpected but welcome bonus. Worth mentioning the breakfast staff who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentRPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed Easter weekend as we were attending a wedding at the adjacent registry. We arrived way too early to check in but the staff kindly offered access to their toilets so we could get changed. The table table resteraunt also let us grab breakfast. The room was comfortable as always but it is the fantastic staff who make premier inns special. After the wedding we were allowed to check in even though it was still before check in so we could drop off our luggage.
A great hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are the best
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMudefordDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
26 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel

Address: Fairlee Road, Newport PO30 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the very best of the Isle of Wight from our prime position in the heart of Newport ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel Isle Of Wight
Premier Inn Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing