We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Premier Inn at Newport for a few days in August 2014. The room was very smart and tidy with everything you need for a stay. We had a room over looking the River Medina on the top floor which was very nice. The staff were very polite and helpful. We paid extra for the full breakfast (£8.75), which is served at the Medina Quay restaurant 50m from the hotel itself. The restaurant has lovely views of the river and was tastefully decorated. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of foods
to help yourself to with fruit juices available. If you are deciding to go to a restaurant for your evening meal we advise that you book a table in advance as several we tried could not fit us in without a reservation including the Medina Quay near the hotel. All in all a very pleasant stay at the Premier Inn at Newport and would happily return.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this hotel and we had another lovely holiday. You know what you're getting with Premier Inn and we weren't disappointed. We booked 2 family rooms and 1 double and all were generously sized. The only problem was the temperature in the 2 rooms which were on the car park side were significantly warmer than the one room on the river side. If we go again, we will ask for rooms on the river side! However, the hotel had catered for it being warm and fans were provided in the rooms and additional sheets in case you didn't want to use the duvet. The staff work very hard at this hotel: it's very clean despite the amount of guests staying. The restaurant next door provided us with our breakfasts and we ate dinner here one evening. The location of the hotel is excellent. It was a short walk into Newport where we found a couple of good restaurants for evening meals. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a river view. Nicer view out of the window and significantly cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was lovely really made my trip to the Isle of Wight. I travelled with my 4 year son. Check in was seamless and the staff friendly. The hotel is like all Premier Inns but the staff were great. Next door the Restaurant was ok but service a little sluggish but I would eat there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We took out two young children to the IOW for a week, and chose the Premier Inn because we knew exactly what we would get. The main priority for us, was a good size family room, that would be clean and well serviced. The hotel was great and certainly met our expectations. We knew that there would not be a lot of hanging space so purchased a "cheap" pop up wardrobe (about £15 on eBay) and certainly made life easier.

We read reviews on trip advisor and was a little concerned about the heat and noise comments - but to be honest we had no issues. We all got a good nights sleep every night.

The hotel breakfasts were certainly very good. It did get very busy and the staff worked hard to keep the clean plates, milk and coffee topped up. On the second day they restricted breakfast to hotel guests only and then after that there were no issues.

We used the hotel as a base, and the likes of as sandown and shanklin a short drive away.

In summary, this was a very good hotel , well located, friendly staff and a good all round level of service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July, arrived early, not expecting to be able to check-in, however, the girl on the desk checked that a room was available and checked us in. The staff made us feel very welcome and ensured we had an enjoyable stay. The room was clean and spacious, air-con would have been nice, however, when we arrived there was a large fan in the room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days during the school holidays and found everything to be satisfactory. Only complaint was it was very noisy at night with the windows open (people arriving and leaving the car park, chatting etc) but with the windows closed was very hot. They did provide a fan, which was a nice touch, but could have done with proper air con really.

Staff were very friendly, breakfast was very good and the room was clean and tidy.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank stevenjameschandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was my first stay at a Premier Inn. The totally amazing staff could not have been more welcoming or thoughtful. The breakfast was excellent, the room was tidy and clean with plenty of supplies. Aileen at the restaurant made our breakfast experience especially enjoyable. The staff really do make this hotel! Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hari-tosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
37 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel

Address: Fairlee Road, Newport PO30 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the very best of the Isle of Wight from our prime position in the heart of Newport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel Isle Of Wight
Premier Inn Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing