We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wear dress shorts”

The Man in the Moon
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: JD Wetherspoon site in Newport, Isle of Wight. Busy and popular restaurant and bar for local and visitors alike. All enjoy the surroundings provided by the beautiful and award-winning renovated church. A great hub to meet friends for a drink or eats, the pub provides great choice of real ales, wines and spirits. Steaks, burgers, world and classic British dishes are available throughout the day.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't wear dress shorts”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wasn't impressed with this new Wetherspoons. Several people were asked to leave because they were wearing dress shorts. There was no dress code notice. I don't like having to line up for 15 minutes when all I want to order is a drink.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    119
    69
    29
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight, england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful venue”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely venue, an old converted church. Very spacious, indoor or outdoor seating. Lots of original features. Service was quick and food delightful. Staff very good too. Washrooms were very clean and very nice. Could not fault a single thing. Will certainly make this our watering hole when we make the trip into Newport. Well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“First Visit to The Man in the Moon”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent Wetherspoons pub and they have done a really good job on the building. Nice to see the open seated area is a smoke free zone. Went on a Thursday night for a curry which was quickly served and excellent value for money. Toilets are probably the best on the island and look forward to visiting the pub again soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great price drinks, love the interior and outside seating area, loos very good, food ok (you get what you pay for), so pretty good value, yes the service is a bit slow (but allowances made as they are new at it!).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikij2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cold food ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I went the day it opened and ordered and lovely pasta dish which came out cold and the presentation was awful, as it was the first day off opening I let it off. I then busted again to find my food cold again and the waiter walking around the whole place before finally coming to our table even though we had a table number which could explain why the food was cold - overall a bad experience

Helpful?
Thank Luzooozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Man in the Moon also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 

Been to The Man in the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing