We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

The Man in the Moon
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: JD Wetherspoon site in Newport, Isle of Wight. Busy and popular restaurant and bar for local and visitors alike. All enjoy the surroundings provided by the beautiful and award-winning renovated church. A great hub to meet friends for a drink or eats, the pub provides great choice of real ales, wines and spirits. Steaks, burgers, world and classic British dishes are available throughout the day.
Newport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived about 11.30. There was quite a number of persons waiting to be served in the bar area. Having got our coffee and cold drink we waited for 12 noon and duly the menu was changed from breakfast to main meals. Having chosen our meal it was quite a wait to put the order in. There was a further wait for the food to be brought to our table. The food was of good quantity and tasty. The 1 comment was perhaps too many tables crushed in. Not enough space for the push chairs to be by the side of the tables. Ouch my ankles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    129
    76
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thrown out by rude manager - not a pub for families!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A party of six of us went for a meal there which was ok. Five of us are over 60 and one is 21 and 9 months. There is a notice on the entrance that anyone who they think looks under 21 will be asked for ID to buy a drink. As the younger member of our group had no ID other than being accompanied by parents and godparents, he was happy to only have a coke and a cup of tea to drink with his meal (even though the law of England permits 16 and 17 year olds to drink with a meal). At 9pm a member of the staff came up to my son, who was drinking his cup of tea and told him as he had no ID he would have to leave. My son went outside . while a couple of us OAP's went and asked this person, who turned out to be the manager (Peter) what was going on. He said it is illegal for anyone under 18 to be in any licensed premises on the Isle of Wight after 9pm. We told him that my son was nearly 22, not under 18 and he said he did not believe us. Thank you "Man in the Moon" for taking our money, but be assured you will not be getting any more of it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank ventnoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful revamped church”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely welcome from the new team and great value, massive portions. The recently furbished church is amazing, the town centre will really benefit from a great Spoons venue for all ages .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and efficient staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited the Man in the Moon twice during our holiday to the Isle of Wight and we have nothing but praise for the pub. The staff made us most welcome especially Amy, who went out of her way to find my husband an ale that he would like. We enjoyed our meals which were very good value. As previous reviewers have mentioned it is a lovely building and there are plenty of places to sit. Would certainly visit again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linny12608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, slow bar service ”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for drinks and food on a Saturday afternoon. Not particularly busy but had to wait about 10mins to order drinks, other customers had same experience. Main cause which is a bug bear of mine is that it seems as soon as there is a problem be it with a till or credit card payment or wrong order it's takes at least 3 staff to sort it, and the person who can fix it is never nearby.
Either have one person present who can override the technology or give staff more credit and let them sort it.
On a positive we had a meal that was served promptly and was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Man in the Moon also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Man in the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing