We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for two nights.
Rooms clean, convenient location for town and sightseeing as central to the island.
Breakfast good value as kids eat free too!
By far the friendliest Travelodge we have stayed in.
Staff courteous and chatty.
Only downside is no on site parking, however there is a short stay car park across the road and a two minute walk to a long stay car park which out £4 for 24 hours and had plenty of spaces available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessiemonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just as good as any Premier inn, very clean, modern, very similar rooms, baths are smaller not really big enough to stretch your legs, The breakfast was a little bit of a let down, limited and the food was a little dry. Only scrambled eggs were available. But the room was great

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your review Andy R. Whilst we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be very clean and modern, we are sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction regarding the food in our bar café. Our bar café staff are trained in how to prepare food to a great standard for all of our customers, so it is regrettable to hear you were unhappy with this service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team to ensure that this is addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

1.) Only 2 plug sockets in the room, both at the desk (and difficult to access), none near the bed.
2.) No free WiFi. £10 per day is daylight robbery.
3.) A tiny television, mounted too high.
4.) Only one towel each. Mine smelt disgustingly musty/dirty/cheesy/moldy and was unusable.
5.) The lighting in the rooms was absolutely awful.
6.) No flannel to wash your face.
7.) A shower with bad water pressure and no height adjustment.
8.) No extractor fan or ANY form of ventilation in the bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom mirror was still covered in steam TWO hours after we had taken showers!
9.) The bedroom had one small window that only opened about 5 inches! After 2 people had taken a shower the room turned into a hot, humid, steamed-up 30 degrees sauna and you found yourself constantly gasping for air! (Outside temperature was 10 degrees less!)
10.) The full-length “mirror” near the door was a distorting "Hall of Mirrors" funfair thing. Totally bizarre!
11.) Not even the most basic toiletries were provided apart from a cheap tiny bar of soap.
12.) Despite a good room size, there was zero storage space apart from an open hanging rail for about 5 items of clothing. No shelves, no drawers, not even bedside tables, just a desk and a chair.
13.) A depressingly uninviting restaurant/bar/breakfast area in front of reception.
14.) A badly stocked breakfast bar with food of very low quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear ASG2902, we are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our Newport Isle of Wight Hotel. As stated on our website our Wi-Fi is currently only free in our bar café areas. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the towels that were provided in your room, if our guests would like more towels these should be available from reception. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

All in all a great stay. It was ideally situated for all our needs. Staff were friendly and ready to help. If I went to the Isle of Wight again here is where I would stay. Great value for money and breakfast just what I needed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank webbyno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Friendly and accommodating staff even came back in the afternoon to service the room as we were getting ready for a wedding, comfortable bed, clean and fresh room. Only down side was the lack of drawers.


  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge for two nights and were very impressed. The staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The front staff greeted us every time they saw us, gave us advise on what to see locally, helped us with information on local services and gave the hotel a atmosphere of friendliness and warmth. The staff made our stay here a very pleasant experience. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and their wasn't any noise from other hotel guests. A great place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Pethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a fairly new Travelodge and so the rooms are still quite fresh. The rooms are large, and the bed was larger than the usual Travelodge beds. Bathroom with the usual very hot water. Here there was free wifi throughout - a real bonus. There is also a bar and restaurant, but we didn't use it, though it seemed to be well patronised. The location is excellent: a few minutes from the shops and the bus station. It was also quiet at night, so well recommended as a base to tour the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
48 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
360 reviews
6.8 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight

Address: Lugley Street, Newport PO30 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £29 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Isle Of Wight Hotel Newport
Travel Lodge Newport
Travelodge Hotel Newport
Newport Travel Lodge
Newport Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing