We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not quite brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Newport Isle of Wight Travelodge is a good option for a one night stay on the Island and is centrally located in Newport. Staff are generally polite and breakfast was adequate, but with room for improvement, However, the let down was the room which had a skylight instead of a proper window. You might want to bear this in mind. Hopefully the new one in Ryde will not have this problem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We made a last minute reservation and Travelodge was the only hotel that had a family room still available. Our room was on the ground floor and was very hot as the windows were permanently shut (maybe for security reasons). We had to ask for a fan. Overall thought the hotel was OK and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would book again with Travelodge in the future but I will ask to be booked on upper floors where one can open the windows.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 786anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff were all friendly and welcoming, the room was comfortable and the beds, well let's say we slept better than we do at home. We have stayed here before and would stay here again. Only thing I didn't like, there was no lock on the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank B-Mitchelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We found the hotel easily, the staff were welcoming and friendly. The hotel was close to town centre, only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The only downside is no free parking onsite!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank back2thefuture3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

3 day stay comfortable room , the staff were helpful and even on request provided a fan and hairdryer. The room had all your basic necessities was clean and well maintained but was a bit short of tv channels especially considering they were free view. We had room 109 which is not to be recommended as it it has a lamp column directly outside which shone directly into the room make it like daylight , it desperately needs a black out blind. Our friends who also stayed here though had no such trouble.The test is would we stay there again and the answer would be yes but not in room 109.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great stay, fantastic and friendly staff who went the extra mile to support the family, advice on where to eat, taxis etc.
clean room and bathroom.
only improvement would be air conditioning in the rooms and storage space.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

having been really disappointed by another travelodge earlier in the year, I was reluctant to use this one but was encouraged by their promise of being refurbished. I will never use travelodge again. dirty towels from previous occupants were left on day one, the bed side light never worked, the room was never cleaned properly and wasn't even made up at all on our last day. the fixtures were spartan and the facilities non existent. a double room but one chair, no drawers and a tv with few channels which vibrated so badly that it couldn't be heard. Believe it or not, I have never had the need to write a bad review about anything in the past but felt duty bound to do so for this, especially when I look at where I could have stayed for less money. an absolute rip off.

Room Tip: just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pole-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
37 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight

Address: Lugley Street, Newport PO30 5HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £37 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Isle Of Wight Hotel Newport
Travel Lodge Newport
Travelodge Hotel Newport
Newport Travel Lodge
Newport Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing