We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A clean and comfortable holiday cottage in lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorn Barn., a spacious 2 bedroomed cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorn Barn., a spacious 2 bedroomed cottage.
Kitchen area with oak cupboards and french painted dining set. Hallway with view towards master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Acorn Barn., a spacious 2 bedroomed cottage.
Kitchen area with oak cupboards and french painted dining set.
Hallway with view towards master bedroom.
Acorn private secure garden with BBQ
Bright and spacious bathroom with  bath and separate shower cubical
Lounge area with corner sofa and huge coffee table which was an elephants saddle.
In the living area from the kitchen towards the cosy corner with oak desk.
Master bedroom with painted furniture
Spacious bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dianepaul...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A clean and comfortable holiday cottage in lovely setting.”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Helscott Barn cottages are in an ideal position for nipping into Bude and Widemouth. They are on the Atlantic highway so easy to get to many other lovely villages too.
We stayed in Acorn cottage and found it excellent value for money. The kitchen had all the facilities needed for a home from home stay. Bedrooms are compact but adequate and a very comfortable mattress.
Lovely little sunny garden and an excellent grassed field for walks with the dog or outside activities.
Yvonne met us and was very friendly and helpful. Lovely welcome pack.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was very nice to meet you and the lovely dog, hope to see you all again.
Yvonne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we enjoyed having you here and look forward to the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nicolajan...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One week summer holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was nice and a great location to access Bude and main routes for various attractions. We had no issues whilst staying there my only comment for improvement would be the cleanliness. I think we may have been among the early holiday makers for the season as the cottage had a lot of spiders and cobwebs and was quite dusty (but all bedding and linen was very clean) just general cleanliness in the more hard to reach places e.g. Under the sofa (I know this sounds very trivial and it probably is but as we have a young toddler we were constantly rescuing toys/keys/whatever else she chose to hide under there). Would definitely consider staying again or recommending though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and rating us as excellent, we note your comments and have reminded the cleaners to move all furniture out and clean beneath items, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LYNN19546...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful converted barn in a lovely setting, easy to find after a long drive, a mile away from fantastic Widemouth Bay and close to Bude. Our host John met us on arrival, and had left a chilled bottle of wine to welcome us. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you for leaving your review, it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again.
John and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it was very nice to meet you all and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LadyD1964
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After a long drive we reached the cottage to be greeted by Yvonne who gave us some information and had a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge for us, just what we needed after a 10 hour drive. Cottage was perfect, very good location, close to Bude and Widemouth. Had a fantastic time although the weather was a bit hit/miss this did not spoil our weekend, we went to Boscastle which is beautiful and had a lovely walk on Bude beach. Our nights were spent chilling out in the cottage, our little Yorkie loved the little garden which was at the side of the cottage and we also walked her in the big field behind. Would definitely recommend this perfect idyllic spot.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place in a great location”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The place is really easy to find and is excellently located being just off the main road and only a few minutes away from the Widemouth Bay and Bude. John made us feel very welcome when we arrived and there were biscuits, Milk and Wine waiting for us along with tea, coffee etc. We have 3 children aged 5, 3 & 2 so the fact there was a washing machine, dishwasher and everything was on one level worked perfectly for us. There is a paddock out the back where the kids could run around and there is a nice little garden area to sit in the sunshine, not that we were there during the day much as we were out exploring Devon & Cornwall. That is where this cottages location is great as it is just across the border from Devon so you've got lots of options as to where to go and get there easily. The fact they have 4 other properties as well as this one gives the place a little community feel and although we couldn't see the sea from our property we could from the location and it is a lovely view.

It was a lovely place to stay and had the perfect feel for a holiday property. We will definitely look to return here again for our next holiday to Cornwall.

Thanks very much John and Yvonne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feel of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing