We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, lovely barn, the perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Lounge now with very large flat screen TV. Wood burning stove plus C/heating
Rose barn with free WiFi
Four poster bed with en suite shower room
Dinning room (with second TV not in view)
Wood burning stove
Second bedroom
Bude Canal going out to sea
Widemouth Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely barn, the perfect getaway”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We area family of 5 with 3 small children aged 5,4 & 3. We stayed at Helscott before but in one of the other properties. We fancied trying the bigger one this time and Rose barn did not disappoint.

The owners, Yvonne and John, are a lovely couple who could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They were always there if we needed them and were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The barn itself is lovely, the rooms are a great size and the lounge area is a lovely place to sit in the evenings. The location of the barns were excellent for us allowing us to travel to Lands End, Exmoor or Dartmoor without taking a great deal of time. Locally you obviously have places like Boscastle and Tintagel just round the corner but being just off one of the main roads helps you get about really easily and Bude is just 5 mins away if you need any shopping etc.

All in all this place is great value and an excellent find, we will be back!

Thanks for another great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, Character & Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Easter.John and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely owners and Ideal Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Yvonne & John are lovely owners and couldn't do enough for us. The cottage was spacious, and met just about all our needs, baring in mind that we had a disabled teenager with us.
The location was perfect good beaches, good eating, handy supermarkets near by ( Morrisons) , and more takeaways than you can shake a stick at in the town .
If I was to be critical the cottage lacked some minor updates ,ie Stereo system, Kitchen TV and Dvd, the fridge was a little small for 6 people , great barbie area,free wifi, good onsite safe parking
A definite 4 out of 5 stars, and we will return .
Thank you Yvonne and John x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yvonne and John the owners so very helpful
Liked least: The fridge was on the small side
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Nice to meet you all, thank you for letting us know the stereo was not functioning correctly, it has been removed, the small TV is still there as others comment on its usefulness for the children especially when there is a large flat screen TV in the living room.We have looked at the full height fridge/freezer in the kitchen and when it needs replacing we will try to source something with a 60/40 split instead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reikijo
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us spent a long weekend at Rose Barn. The cottage was perfect with everything we could want. There are a group of cottages but you are not overlooked and it is very quiet and peaceful. Yvonne the owner, had left us wine, chocolate biscuits, tea, coffee and milk. The rooms were warm and clean and tidy. The roundhouse lounge is delightful and makes for a great place to sit and chat, watch telly, read a book or play board games in front of the wood stove. Yvonne is a lovely person, very helpful and welcoming. We will be recommending Helscott Barns to family and friends and will revisit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari H
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a good location.”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week in August. We wanted a spacious house for five adults and this was perfect. The cottage was well equipped and very cozy. Our hosts were very friendly and had left a bottle of wine, milk, tea, coffee and biscuits to start us off. Very much appreciated. The only negative comment would be that wifi is very limited. We only managed to get a signal in one part of the lounge and that wasn't consistent.

The cottage is only 5 minutes from Widemouth Bay, which is lovely, and approximately 10 minutes from Bude. The beach cafe at Widemouth bay is recommended for lunch. We had a lovely meal in the Falcon Hotel and also in the pub next door to the Falcon. We would recommend both.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that the wi fi was intermittant although the cabled connection is good, we have now installed another booster for Rose Barn which should improve the strength of signal.It was lovely to meet your family and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madfish83
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, had everything you could ask for.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Rose Barn for a week over Easter with my partner and their family. The cottage is located just off A39 with Bude and Widemouth Bay being 5 minutes drive away. It is set within a couple of other cottages, one of which is occupied by the cottage owners, Yvonne and John.

Yvonne and John were very attentive from the moment we booked the cottage and emailed me with all the necessary details and kindly informed us that we could order our food shopping online and have it delivered on the day of our arrival which we did with no problem. They even said they would accept our food delivery if were late arriving and put the chilled food in the fridge for us!


Upon arrival we were showed around the cottage by the owners and they left us a bottle of wine and a bottle of milk in the fridge and there was also tea, coffee and sugar left so we could get the kettle on when we arrived. There was also washing up liquid, washing powder, tea towels, dishwasher tablets... the list was endless. I was very impressed that they had left it so well stocked. As you'd expect there wasn't enough supplies to last you a week but certainly enough to be getting on with and most people with any sense take their own stuff anyway.

The cottage itself is spacious and the five of us didn't find ourselves living on top of each other. There are two double bedrooms upstairs one of which has an ensuite and a twin room downstairs next to the bathroom. There are also two single pull down beds in the living room. The cottage is well equipped with everything we could possibly ask for, TV, CD player, iron, ironing board etc. There is also a BBQ on the patio but it was too cold for that!

Overall I was very impressed and would definitely recommend Rose Barn to any one thinking of visiting. Its setting is ideal and it's a good base to explore the neighbouring towns and attractions and at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Close to other cottage (opposite)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wooden beams and log fire in the front room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClaireHos...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Rose Barn in Bude for a week in October. Even though the weather wasn't fantastic, the location and cottage was perfect. The cottage is beautifully decorated and fully equiped with anything you could need. My favourite room was the living room with it's massive recliner squashy sofas and log burning fire. The beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of space for the 5 of us that stayed.
The location is just outside Bude, just a short drive from the town for shopping or to the beach at Widemouth Bay for walking. The beach is breath taking and the town was full of quirky shops and cafe's. We really enjoyed our stay, and our hosts were so friendly and helpful. I'd certainly recommend Rose Barn to familes, couples or groups. We loved it there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove, and big kitchen
Liked least: The typically british weather!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing