We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dog friendly shame the food was mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Certificate of Excellence
livingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dog friendly shame the food was mediocre”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Visiting for something to eat on the way home from the beach, thought we would have to eat outside but were told we were welcome in the bar. Unfortunately, if it hadn't been for the lovely staff and friendly locals we would have marked this lower. The meal was barely average, I had prawns to start....3 with a miniscule amount of salad, my hubby had white bait which he said was lovely. I then had the most awful burger, which i fed to the dogs and my hubby had mussels, having had them earlier in the week elsewhere these were no comparison. We didn't stay for desert or coffee! Sorry but we were just really disappointed in the food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeniiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    54
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
79
86
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I agree with some of the previous reviews, in terms of from the outside it is dated and shabby but inside its vibrant, classy and well furnished. Amazing views of sea. Food is excellent and very reasonable, kids meal £5 average adults meal £10 but goes up to £18 for quality steak. Staff are soooooo helpful. Lastly no I don't work or own it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averagejoe492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I had read some of the reviews which seemed a mixed bag.
From the outside it does look a little dated or grubby, but what a lovely greeting from the cheerful staff. I was staying for one night and do like to try the local inns or hotels as they have character.
After almost giving up trying to find one that is decent I hesitantly booked Widemouth manor.
The room was only a single but was comfortable and had everything I needed.
The Wifi was free which was a nice surprise.
The views from the room and outside from the car park were the fantastic.
I would be bring the family down here for a weekend away with pleasure, I never ate in the restaurant but the service looked quick and the portions a nice size.

The only down point I would mention is the plumbing is a little loud and the shower pressure a little weak in room 7, but it didn't spoil my stay.

Room Tip: Like I say room 7 has quite loud plumbing noise , but any room with a sea view would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great lunch here. The menu choice was great. I had the mussels and they were fabulous my husbands had a tropical burgerb wifi Wad also yummy. The place was clean and decor was modern. Staff very friendly. We had a very relaxing lunch and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Youngio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at widemouth manor last weekend for 2 nights and loved every minute. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful from the moment we got there. The room was lovely, very clean and modern; probably the nicest and cleanest hotel we've stayed in for a while!
Ate at the restaurant for an evening meal and it was lovely, could not fault the food or the service.
Would definetly recommend this hotel, we would have stayed longer if we could and would definetly return if we came to bude again :) great value for what we paid.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tashalh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Along with my Elderly Aunt and Uncle (staying with us on holiday); we joined Our Daughter, Husband and two Grandchildren here for Sunday Lunch! We met in the grounds of the Hotel; which has stunning views over countryside and coastline; and a very pleasant play area for children! We had booked our table; which is probably advisable! The Dining Room/Restaurant is a light airy space over looking these grounds; and we were afforded a table Just inside by French doors! This was very handy especially with two small children! We were seated and our drinks order was taken whilst we perused the very good Menu! Most of us had Roast; be it Lamb or scrumptious Pork served with the best cracking! Although Beef was on the Menu as well! The children ordered from the children's Menu! Our Roasts were plentiful; served with Roast Potatoes, Parsnips and Yorkshire Pudding! Beautifully cooked and presented vegetables came in two dishes separately! Everything was delicious and hot; and we were all agreed beautifully cooked and flavoursome! The Staff were attentive, extremely pleasant without hassling us! We had to forgo Desserts as we were so full; but they were extremely tempting! We settled for coffee instead! After vacating our table truly satisfied we enjoyed the gardens once again! The meal was one of the best Sunday Lunches we have had out in a long time and at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Although we did not use the Hotel just it's Restaurant; we are sure it is a beautiful location i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonCountryBumkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent 4 nights at the hotel. Our room was fine with nice extra touches such as the bottle of water by the bed each day and the fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room (there is not much power in the shower but they do warn you of that and plenty of hot water if you want to have a bath instead). We also ate in the hotel each evening and the food was excellent everytime - whilst there are only 7 rooms and it was not full there are a lot of locals that seem to eat there so it was busy everynight. Breakfast was basic but plentiful - the cooked breakfast was excellent for 3 out of the 4 days, not quite so good on the fourth day (possibly the regular chef's day off?). The staff were all good with some being excellent - always helpful and friendly without being over the top. Overall a great place to stay if you want a convenient place for exploring the north Devon/Cornwall area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widemouth Bay
3.7 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
589 reviews
3.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
205 reviews
3.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
165 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Manor Hotel

Property: Widemouth Manor Hotel
Address: Widemouth Bay | Bude, Widemouth Bay EX23 0DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast, The Widemouth Manor Hotel is set within its own gardens, and stands high up near the cliffs that overlook Widemouth Bay near Bude. The impressive manor, acquired in June 2015 is now a family run hotel. The hotel is decorated in cool shades of blue, reflecting its close proximity to the beaches of Widemouth Bay. Refurbishment has begun on the hotel grounds providing a panoramic glass fronted view looking over Widemouth Bay and the ocean. The Manor offers dining in the main restaurant and conservatory over looking the gardens which has its own lounge bar. Whilst a more relaxed atmosphere can be enjoyed in the adjoining public bar where dogs are welcome. Adjoining terraces surround the building, wheelchair access is now provided to the rear terraces overlooking the views. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable. Refurbishment has now begun to bring The Manor back to the imposing building of Widemouth Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Widemouth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Manor Hotel Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing