We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding day experience”
Review of The Barns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barns Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Cannock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My daughter was married at The Barns last Friday. She'd heard good reports, and we were impressed when we first went to see the rooms and discuss what they had to offer. Throughout the planning stage, Bruce, Dave and the team could not have been more helpful and flexible and made us feel confident that it would go to plan. And it did! The main rooms looked wonderful, the meal was amazing (everyone commented on the food being exceptional), and the team made sure that everyone was happy right through til one am. The hotel rooms were comfortable and quiet too, and the full breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. They even managed to arrange for the sun to shine while we were outside for the photos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had yet another great meal in the Barns' restaurant. Plenty of choice from a competitively priced menu with real ales kept well & a nice selection of wines.

The freshly cooked bar food is good (not the usual re-heated fare) but if you want slightly better choice of menu in quieter surroundings, go for the upstairs restaurant (it's not that much more expensive). My family & I have been fortunate enough to try both many times and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is relaxed, kids are always made welcome and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

We have used the function room at the Barns for 2 of my children's christening meals (buffet style) and the food & service were just as good. John did a great job helping us organise everything.

I recently recommended the Barns to a work colleague travelling from Ireland. He was full of praise for the accommodation side of the business and we got to meet up for a meal and few quiet beers together into the bargain!

The only reason I have not score it a '5', is that in my opinion, the bar menu (not the food quality) is not quite as good as it used to be......but it is still good......and the desserts are to 'die' for!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Have not stayed at hotel but a lot of my family did in January 2013 for Niece's wedding and were
very complimentary. Have eaten in restaurant and bar many times and food is always excellent. The food at wedding was also same standard with a menu choice which is unusual for such occasions. A place we will return to many times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We attended our sons wedding on Saturday 5th October 2013 , the whole day was a fantastic occasion helped by great surroundings and good food. We stayed the night and found the accommodation to be of high standard with clean spacious rooms and everything you could ask for.The following morning was also well catered for as we also had a family birthday that we celebrated whilst enjoying a full English breakfast ( except the ones still a bit worse for wear ). All the staff helped make the occasion a great one and thanks to everyone involved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a nice surprise. First time at this hotel and it certainly wont be the last.
Room large, well furnished, excellent facilities. I must agree that the towels were the very best I have seen in any hotel.
Food excellent. All of the staff deserve a mention for their great service and a big thank you. I was staying overnight on my own on business, and I must admit the hotel made a difference to a single traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graval007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here on the night of Friday 6th September 2013 for a friends birthday. The room was very tasteful decorated and absolutely immaculate with everything you need. The towels were the best we had ever had in ANY hotel in the world very luxurious and the bed extremely comfortable

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of staying here the staff were helpful, the bar welcoming and the function room was very quirky and we would think of using it for a celebration.

Breakfast was cooked individually and was huge and very tasty.

So overall a faultless stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and we found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynor gumdrops... l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We attended a wedding at the Barns this week and I have to say it was wonderful.
The room the service was conducted in was lovely and very well presented and the food was first class.
Will be going back to eat soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannock
2.5 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherton
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock South Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
4.1 mi away
The Rag Country Inn
The Rag Country Inn
#3 of 5 in Cannock
42 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Littleton Arms
The Littleton Arms
#1 of 4 in Penkridge
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns Hotel

Address: The Barns Cock Sparrow Lane, Cannock WS12 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cannock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cannock
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Barns Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Barns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing