We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE RAG INN IS A MUST!”
Review of The Rag Restaurant

The Rag Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Cannock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop outside the pub.
Description: Set on the outskirts of Cannock Chase, The Rag Restaurant was opened in March 2004 after extensive building work and redecoration. It has an established reputation for serving high quality, home cooked food, which along with fine wines helps to ensure The Rag provides a charming location for any occasion. Inside The Rag you will find a relaxed, friendly atmosphere full of style and comfort. Whether you wish to visit for lunch or an evening meal, you and your guests can be assured of a warm welcome.
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our first visit to The Rag Inn today for a Sunday Lunch, with 2 friends. We booked via the online booking service for The Rag to reserve a table for 4.
We all decided on the 3-course menu which was delicious. 3 had Prawn starters and 1 Chicken, Bacon and Brie tartlet. Mains we all opted for the Lamb dinner with Yorkshire Pudding and all the trimmings.....delicious! Our desserts were 3 Baileys Brulees and 1 Tiramisu.
Very reasonably priced and we thoroughly enjoyed our day there.
Waitresses were extremely polite and helpful too, we were not rushed through the courses at all.
Most definitely be returning there! 10 out of 10!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hello Lyn, we're delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to The Rag and thank you for the positive feedback on the food and our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon - we have our 2 for £30 menu Monday - Thursday evenings, which is also excellent value for money, even if we do say so ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 560 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you want to spend a little more on an eating out trip then The Rag is the place to go! I'm actually surprised they need to offer a 2 for £30 menu as whenever we go (and we have to make a reservation, as always full) we think the food is a good price for what you get! I don't normally deliberate over a menu when I go out, but here I do - I love the food combinations they put together and the bread to start and the jus accompanying the main meal I always look forward to. Yes - I am a regular I suppose. I go hear maybe once every 3 to 4 months as a treat and always come away wanting more... truly scrummy food, can't fault it!

Only very minor critique would be the ambience / decor - not my taste; but 'tis clean and functional. And as I'm going there to get my latest fix of good food (primary objective), not too worried about the décor so much!

Always impressed that somewhere off the beaten track has so many people eating there - I sometimes wish they were quieter and so I could not have to book in advance, but I guess that's my problem!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andym53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you andym53 - we always aim to please! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We've eaten at The Rag on a number of occasions and we're never disappointed. The 2 for £30 Mon-Thurs menu offers exceptional value, as does the Sunday lunch of 3 courses for £14.95. Portions good, and a great choice of Real Ales, given that The Rag is a Free House.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chez_SocialMediaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback - we're glad that you enjoy our range of Real Ales as well as our food and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

yet again another lovely meal. food is fantastic.
took mum and dad to celebrate 50th wedding anniversary.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

We're so pleased that you chose The Rag to celebrate such a milestone, and that you once again had a great time! Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

we have been to the rag many times and never had a bad meal, there is always something new on the menu to try the staff are hard working and very friendly . last time we went we had two courses and a bottle of house wine for £30 what a bargain give the rag a try you won't be disappointed

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leslie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hi Leslie.

Thank you for the lovely feedback - we're pleased you enjoy dining with us at The Rag, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Don't forget that Friday evenings throughout the summer months we have our BBQ from 5-7pm, weather permitting.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rag Restaurant also viewed

Cannock, Staffordshire
Cannock, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Cannock, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Rag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing