We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cannock
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good rooms”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms was clean, staff was very friendly would book again. I paid for breakfast on my room package and when we went down for breakfast we was not asked what room we was from. We just walked in sat at a table and helped ourselves, not once did a member of staff approach us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annettedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, 6 August 2014

Dear Annettedove,

We thank you for taking time to review your stay in Ramada Cannock, We were delighted to read you find Hotel lovely and clean, staff friendly.

We look forward to welcome you back to Ramada Cannock.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the very near future.


Warm Regards,
Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    185
    126
    86
    80
See reviews for
98
193
38
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed overnight with ulsterbus.the staff could not cope with the number of guests in that night,the dinner was uneatable,the scrambled eggs for breakfast must have be made the night before as they were uneatable you could not use the bar as it was the dinning room the whole experience was a total farce would never stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lardyboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lardyboy20,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

We read with much concern the trouble you had during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the service issues you had during breakfast and the poor experience you had in our restaurant. We deeply regret that you did not find our hotel to your liking.

It is our hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

I trust you will give us one opportunity to make good your impression of us.

Kind Regards


Warm Regards,
Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cannock hotels

Bilston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Following a very busy house move we decided we wanted to get away for the night - not too far away but away from moving boxes. We found this hotel via the Wyndham Rewards website and booked an overnight stay with breakfast. As we were both shattered we decided to have room service and the food was excellent - very plentiful, tasty and reasonably priced. The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant at the top of the hotel and you could see the view for miles. It was a pleasant sunny morning and contributed to a very nice start to the day before venturing back to the moving boxes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAH1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear SAH1877,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at The Ramada Cannock. We always try our hardest to meet our guests high expectations and was really pleased to read that we have achieved this. I have passed on our kind words to my brilliant team at the hotel and hope to get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesfield, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just returned from 2 nights in the Ramada North Birmingham (Cannock) for my sister's wedding and I have never ever, EVER been witness to such shambolic organisation in my life.

Friday night we arrived and there was already a wedding party the bar, as we were waiting to check they were coming into reception chasing someone serve them as a queue was forming in the bar there was one receptionist and no bar staff is sight - that should have set alarm bells off but we weren't paying that much attention - we should have!

First of all the Wedding planner doesn't work weekends to be able to clean up the mess she causes with such poor planning and communication - and a mess there was!

Our first sign something was wrong was when the bridesmaids tried to check out of the room they'd shared the night before (they were re checking in to rooms with their families for the night) we discovered rooms not booked or double booked or wrongly allocated between family and double suites - we spent a good 30 minutes with a very helpful receptionist getting that all sorted

Then while looking over the chair covers in the room with dirty walls and carpets that was being set up for the ceremony we glanced over the running order someone had left laying around - and it's a good job we did!

The groom and best mans names had been confused for the announcement of the speeches, the PAID for upgrade from bucks fizz to sparkling wine had been omitted and despite is saying clearly that cushions needed to be provided for 2 disabled members of the wedding party they were no where in sight and there were other things relating to cake tables and small details that were just wrong or hadn't been communicated. Back to reception we went to be told the weekend planner wouldn't be in until 3pm (for a 5:15pm wedding) but that she again would help us put some of this right and send the planner up to the suite as soon as she arrived.

I'd like to say it ended there but unfortunately it went from bad to worse!

As people were checking in they were being sent to rooms which already had people in - or were told they had no reservation when they had (including booking number). This was thankfully sorted, but having had to spend the time in the morning to clarify the bookings because we'd already encountered an issue, this should never have happened again.

Then at 5pm when the wedding party were all trying to leave their rooms to get to the venue 2 coach loads of tourists checked in and were all trying to get UP to their rooms in the 12 floor hotel's only lift!

The ceremony thankfully went off without a hitch, if I wanted to be really picky I could point out that no one had even bothered to iron the tablecloth of the register table but afterwards things just deteriorated more . After the ceremony we had arranged to have access to the SkyBar with the week day wedding planner for photos - when approaching reception with the photographer we were told it was locked and hadn't been cleaned from the wedding the night before - this was 6:30pm on a Saturday, they'd had the whole day to sort it. The photographer and the bridesmaids ended up lugging tables around to clear space for the photos to happen!

Then on return to the ground floor bar we found that the wedding party had all been sent over to the reception room by the most rude ignorant barman I have ever encountered despite the reception room not being ready yet even though it was scheduled to be ready by 7pm - when we tried to return to the bar we were told no because they needed the bar to feed the tourists and I quote "it's not MY fault" - when we asked to speak to the manager we were told none were on site!

The evening guests were arriving and the whole wedding party were forced to stand out on the car park to just wait - thankfully the thunderstorm and rain had passed by this point because who knew what we would do!

By this point the bride was in tears - and when we approached - who we had been told was the weekend planner - to try and find some resolution it transpired in actual fact she was the manager on duty and we had been lied to throughout the day - and then in conversation it was discovered that she had been supplied a running order completely different to the one we had a copy of and was previously agreed with the actual wedding planner - I'd like to say I took this news well, but I didn't - My sister had been in pieces due to their ineptitude and I was frustrated

Thankfully the manager and the poor staff who were left to deal with us understood our frustration and accepted our anger - they worked incredibly hard to salvage the evening - which did turn out lovely but by that point I felt the damage had been done - poor management, poor communication and a bride in tears - and not of tears happiness on her wedding day - absolutely disgraceful.

Sunday morning and I'd like to say all was rosy but when we found dirty crockery in the breakfast buffet and no toilet roll in the in toilets, we were just resigned to the fact that this is just how it is at this particular hotel, dirty, woefully understaffed and poorly managed.

I for one will never ever be sending business their way again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Thank you for a nice stay. Nice Room,Nice Breakfast. Groupon Voucher Stay. Good value for money. A few small problems like the room fridge missing and the in room safe did not open and the hotel seems not to respond to emails. Nice staff, but the inroom info needs updating as breakfast is on the ground floor not the 12th floor restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Friendly staff greeted myself and my girlfriend at the door andvprovided us with a great room and stay for my 21st birthday. The executive rooms had a great view, good bathroom and washing facilities and a comfy bed with a tv right by it. The meal for dinner was good in the sky bar, the mixed grill I tried was very good, and the buffet breakfast was also very good.

All in all, friendly hardworking staff who provided us with a good nights stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go for a quiet night away in the local area

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamC210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here as an overnight break in a long journey and found the Ramada Orbital Plaza a clean, bright and comfortable hotel. A striking 12-storey building that sits in the centre of a small circular development of offices and restaurants is situated just beyond the western end of the M6 Toll. Built 7 years ago as the LIon Point tower, the hotel has free parking surrounding it. We did not eat dinner in the small on-site brasserie and bar, but breakfast was the usual buffet style and pretty good. The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was clean with a generous shower (please note- we had no bath, which may be a downside for some). Air conditioning was very welcome - we were on the 10th floor and no windows could be opened. Wifi was good anywhere in the hotel and the staff were friendly and welcoming. At the price (less than a Premier Inn) we were very pleased and would use this hotel again. One note of caution though - this building (and the units around it) are up for sale, as they are owned by the failing Pritchard Group. This Midlands-based property business has been in serious difficulties since 2012 and a large amount of the group's portfolio is being sold off to meet creditors demands. We were informed by one member of staff that the hotel operation is moving from Ramada to Holiday Inn during August 2014 - but this is unconfirmed. Hopefully this will not affect the hotel and, if so, I would recommend it as a restful stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnpike_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannock
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.4 mi away
Featherstone Farm Hotel
Featherstone Farm Hotel
#11 of 21 in Wolverhampton
94 reviews
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
Address: Bridge Street, Cannock WS11 0DQ, England (Formerly Orbital Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cannock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a striking contemporary 95 bedroom 12 storey hotel benefiting from FREE Parking and FREE WIFI. Located in Cannock Town Centre easily accessible from the M6 and 20 minutes away from the UK’s second biggest city Birmingham. Ideally located near to many local family attractions including Drayton Manor Park, Alton Towers, Cadbury’s World and Black Country Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham North Cannock Hotel Cannock
Ramada Cannock
Cannock Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing