We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull family run b & b”
Review of Old Dad's Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Dad's Barn B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Blackburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very warm welcome in beautifull souroundings in the village of mellor great breakfast made to feel very welcome it situated on a farm that is a livery great for kids there loverly daughter Emily guess aged 3 has her own play ground which iam sure guest s children would love

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Hello Kevin and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's nice to know all our hard work since taking over in 2012 is moving Old Dads in the right direction.

I guess the local pub wasn't for you? we still have a temporary landlord in, maybe the brewery need to lower the charges.

Many thanks

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Old Dad's Barn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here with friends on 25th Oct. I had a room with a beautiful view, the en-suite was modern. We had our own lounge with flat screen TV which was much appreciated after travelling from Lincolnshire to Preston for a funeral. Mick was so welcoming and his beautiful little daughter Emily was a pleasure to have around. Mick recommended a local hotel (The Millstone, Mellor) for lunch and it was wonderful. Lovely breakfast. Would certainly recommend this B&B,

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet with lovely views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 113RitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Good morning Rita, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback your kind words go along way. I’m glad you enjoyed the views from your room, when the weather permits an hour can go nowhere sat at the Trig point taking in all you can see.

Not everybody makes use of the lounge area, it was nice to see people making the best of a bad day. Anson from the Millstone certainly gets the taste buds going, I feel a visit from Old Dads is on the cards!

I’ll keep you all in the loop for the CL opening!

Regards
Mick Sheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute and I'm so glad the premier inn was fully booked!! Fantastic welcome, particularly from little Emily :-) who was so cute! Mick was so accommodating, and the room had lots of little extras which were a lovely touch. Room was lovely, with old antique furniture and an amazing view. Breakfast was hearty, there was no rush for us to leave the following day and Mick was very patient when my exceptionally disorganised partner had to go get some cash out to pay. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorClanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Great host - clean room - great location - easy access from motorway - close to pub serving good food- lots of local walking
- mick and family great host - fabulous breakfast and excellent value
Thanks again
Stuart

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Good evening, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope to see you again, hopefully before you buy another new car though.

Thanks again

Old Dads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed while visiting family in the area. For us it’s perfectly situated as it’s within walking distance of Mellor and close to public transit links (train and bus). It’s a short cab ride from Preston which has frequent trains to London Euston.

The breakfasts were very good (while not excessive), and Mick was very accommodating as I liked to change my order from day to day. Emma (the cute tot) was often a feature at breakfast times which gave the place even more of a homey feel.

We only had a few complaints. First, our bed was squeaky and not very comfortable. We realized it more after we left with sore backs, and especially after having really good sleeps on our visit to London. The other issue was that the WIFI didn’t work well in our room. We could get a VERY weak connection if we sat ourselves down at the small table by the door, but nothing beyond that. Our bathroom door didn’t shut properly, but that didn’t pose a problem for us.

Mick definitely went out of way to help solve some of our self-made challenges – like bringing the wrong electric current adapter. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayleePaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

We thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests.

I have addressed a couple of the problems you experienced, fitted a wireless extender to the Wi-Fi and good signal is now available throughout the house, the pine bed frame has been tightened up & padding fitted to the joints to stop any squeaking, the bathroom door catch has been adjusted & now closes to without any problems.

We’re sorry you didn’t find the bed very comfortable, the mattresses are good quality Silent Night with no roll together and are turned regularly, this is the first complaint regarding our beds, I shall sleep test it myself and replace if necessary.

Maybe we should look at keeping relevant power adaptors for guests as we had a visitor from the USA only weeks before who had also brought the wrong convertor. USB charging saved the day again.

Emily does enjoy being a waitress & chatting to guests, perhaps this is her calling.

Thank you once again

Old Dad’s Barn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A nice place to stay. Nothing altra fancy just cozy confort, great breakfast, small town setting with great views, Pubs with cold pints and good food within walking distance and excellent B&B Hosts!
JAC
Omaha, Nebraska

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center but I couldn't erase the entry? Anyway I didn't miss them...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

We are very glad Old Dad's was a pleasurable stay for you & thank you for Emily's present. I hope the trip was a worthwhile one and everything has sold.

Many thanks Old Dad's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Old Dads recently and found it a very pleasurable stay. Mick and Family are lovely helpful people, the cooked breakfast was lovely, rooms very clean, easy to get into Blackburn, wonderful views..would stay again and reccomend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
1.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
3.6 mi away
Fernhurst Lodge
Fernhurst Lodge
#4 of 4 in Blackburn
165 reviews
4.3 mi away
WILLOWS
WILLOWS
#4 of 8 in Blackburn
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Dad's Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Dad's Barn B&B

Address: Old Dads Barn Mellor Lane | Mellor, Blackburn BB2 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blackburn
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our comfortable family run bed and breakfast, nestling in rural Lancashire. Whether you are travelling, working locally, or visiting friends and relatives, we'll make sure your stay is an enjoyable one - in unique surroundings, filled with character, a lifetime apart from generic hotel chains! Our location features the superb landscapes of the Ribble Valley, in a gorgeous historic farming village, whilst still being no more than 10 minutes from the M6, and close to British Aerospace at Salmesbury. We offer you comfort and peace in our non-smoking rooms, complete with off road parking. All rooms feature television, tea and coffee making facilities, and an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast awaits you in the morning, and there are numerous local pubs serving good country homemade food for lunch and dinner, with Blackburn and Preston being only a few miles away for those in search of an urban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Dad's Barn B&B Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing