We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Fernhurst Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhurst Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife had just a sweet but I chose the Chicken and Rib main course. The rib was delicious, nice and moist and really tasty but the chicken was stringy, tasteless, and very dry. We mentioned this to the waitress but no-one came back to us, so we left

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Fernhurst Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a late booking and great value for the money. It was clean the staff were helpful and the food was excellent also had ours as room service as there was a large party going on. No problems parking considering it was Bank holiday weekend

Room Tip: Ground floor behind reception
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyF486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

All the poor reviews of this place are unfortunately true, the car park is usually very busy late afternoon/early evening due to people going to the neighbouring pub next door, reception check-in was ok but front door always open, then there's a security keypad to get into the hotel, if anyone knows this number then access can be gained to the hotel (hardly a strong security number either, hope this is changed frequently!) nobody on reception for the rest of the visit as (as told by people who have obviously stayed here before) the staff then go and work in the pub next door for meals & breakfast. I was very worried about my room key, if it failed then who would be able to get me back in (as other reviewers have mentioned). The hotel is more like a motel, travelodge style, dated decor and my room was basic, again like a travelodge, I was at the front of the hotel so road noise made my alarm clock redundant. Bathroom was not clean, door handle was tarnished to death, bath had mould and flooring needed replacing. Very strange way of running a place & I didn't feel safe at all. Didn't stay here out of choice and wouldn't choose to return, sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

There are things that should be looking nice in a hotel. The reception is one. This on was dirty, worn down and the girl behind the counter obviously had a nasty cold going on. No smiles, no service. We were just told we had a room and the code to get in. Fine, you get what you pay for. Room itself was spacy, but the bathroom had a terrible humidity smell that never went away. Worst smell ever in a bathroom. They clearly have moist and humidity issues which will eat that bathroom up from the inside out in no time. The shower curtains had mould on the bottom. Horrid. The water pressure was excellent though, which makes no sense with all these hits and misses. You can't offer a bathroom like that to guests, seriously.

Bar is excellent. Great food. Well recommended. The same staff does both hotel and the pub it seems which was a bit of a downer when the girl with the nasty cold showed up. For my breakfast the second day I asked to see the menu, and the waitress was beyond puzzled. Ended up with the same English breakfast as the day before even if they clearly had other options available. No idea why that was and why I couldnt order them. OJ mug was dirty, so was the tea pot. The bartenders were sweet but kept looking at each other and sighing. Odd thing to do when you serve a customer. Ate some chicken with BBQ sauce one day, one of the best chicken meals I've had.

It's peculiar how the quality changed throughout our stay. Simple things that should at all costs be mandatory. Train your work force better, they clearly do not understand simple tasks.

Room Tip: If you get Room #1, ask for another!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitfireix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's basically a travel lodge but filthy, the bar staff let you in and then you never see anyone again. Our room No3 the disabled room was nice but dirty, there were tea bags and rubbish in the bedroom bin and make up wipes and a plaster with other rubbish in the bathroom bin.Cobwebs everywhere, tea/coffee stains on the walls. The bathroom was so bad, massive mouldy ceiling, and bath too. Broken extractor fan, and just as well we didn't want to use any of the hand rails as they were thick with dirt, hair and what could have been splats of blood or faecal matter, disusting. But like I say no one anyone to complain too and didn't feel it would apropreate to complain to the bar staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeandZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Working for a couple of days at Blackburn College, drove over and the Hotel's got good carparking. It's basic, but when you consider the cost of the hotel you get a lot for your money, including a good FREE wifi connection through the cloud.

The hotel adjacent to the pub, a chain but with a good selection of real ales and it is casque marked. The food was also very good, with a decent Vegetarian selection, some of which are vegan.

We had 12 people come over for dinner, service was quick and the staff were very polite and helpful (especially Zoe). This for me lifted the experience from average to very good.

On the first night of two, Blackburn were playing Brighton (football) at home. The pub is very near the football ground, but it was quiet, there were several security staff making sure the carpark was safe, and even though the pub was busy the service remained good and fast.

Room Tip: Don't expect high quality, but it is good value. The wifi is with the Cloud and is free. They do...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrie_Phipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had the "pleasure" of staying over night in the above establishment. The standard of service was very poor from the minute we arrived until the time of our departure. It took approximately twenty minutes to book us in. The room was adequate but the draft blowing through the window frame was intolerable for the person sleeping on the sofa bed. There is no night porter as my daughter found out when the key to her room wouldn't work, Indeed the staff member she eventually found said it was lucky he was still there otherwise she would have to "sleep in her car". She pointed out that it would be impossible as her keys were in the room. He then reprogrammed the key but the same thing happened again the following morning upon returning from breakfast.
The breakfast was very poor. The only difference between the adults cooked breakfast and the children's was that it was served on a larger plate. Cooked breakfast consisted of one overcooked piece of poor quality bacon, a sausage, an egg, beans that looked as if they had been warmed up several times, half a tomato and a cold mushroom. The entire experience was less than satisfactory even more so as it cost over £70 when friends of ours were staying two miles away in another chain lodge with their room only costing £29.50.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
5.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
3.7 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
324 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhurst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhurst Lodge

Address: 466 Bolton Road, Blackburn BB2 4JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range: £58 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhurst Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 minutes from M65 Junction 4, The Fernhurst is perfectly situated for business meetings, celebrations or as a base to discover the East Lancashire region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Fernhurst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhurst Arms Hotel Blackburn
Fernhurst Lodge Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing