We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Fernhurst Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhurst Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in a twin bed room with my mother for a family party. The room was clean but there were two lights which didn't work. There was a hospitality tray with a choice of tea or coffee but no herbal alternatives. Our main gripe though, was the breakfast; we wanted the 'continental'. This, we thought would be croissants but no! There was a choice of 3 unhealthy cereals and 'toast'; unfortunately the toast was more like stale bread and the spreads were limited to marmalade and honey. The coffee was dreadful. I run a B and B in France; our hospitality trays have a wide choice of drinks including water and our breakfasts have a choice of croissants, yoghurts, homemade bread, a wide range of jams etc, fresh fruit, cereals and fresh coffee. Our price is less than we paid for this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable beds! Lovely breakfast. Pleasant and accommodating staff. Nothing to winge about but I would say that maybe they need a little bit more cleaning around corners,behind bathroom door etc. Will not put me off returning though. The bed alone was worth the money to stay for the night!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fernhurst Lodge stayed overnight as in the area for a reception, staff friendly generally clean rooms however bathroom needs updating shower head looked dirty and the whole bathroom would benefit from regrout . Breakfast very good decent amount of choice and hot room served efficiently and hot. This is a travel lodge with another name and not up to the same standards which is why I gave it a 3, but prefectly adequate for an overnight stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ashcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a wedding in this area and wanted accommodation for one night. Fernhurst was really good value for money with breakfast included.
There was plenty of parking.
The rooms were basic but clean and the beds were comfortable.
The lad on reception was extremely helpful when we booked in and gave us all the information we needed. The reception isn't manned 24 hours but this wasn't a problem when we arrived back at midnight. The porter had already unlocked the door for us.
The breakfast was tasty and plentiful although there wasn't a large selection for a continental breakfast but we had the cooked breakfast which was waitress served and great for us.
If you need somewhere to stay in the area for a night or two I would definitely recommend the Fernhurst.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Good size rooms with tv and kettle. Travel lodge type of hotel with good standard restaurant at the side. Clean and tidy with maid service every day. I've been to this hotel many times as its conveniently close to family I visit & I've never been disappointed. Be aware this hotel is across the road from the football stadium in Blackburn.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife had just a sweet but I chose the Chicken and Rib main course. The rib was delicious, nice and moist and really tasty but the chicken was stringy, tasteless, and very dry. We mentioned this to the waitress but no-one came back to us, so we left

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a late booking and great value for the money. It was clean the staff were helpful and the food was excellent also had ours as room service as there was a large party going on. No problems parking considering it was Bank holiday weekend

Room Tip: Ground floor behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyF486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
472 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#4 of 4 in Darwen
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhurst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhurst Lodge

Address: 466 Bolton Road, Blackburn BB2 4JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhurst Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 minutes from M65 Junction 4, The Fernhurst is perfectly situated for business meetings, celebrations or as a base to discover the East Lancashire region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fernhurst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhurst Arms Hotel Blackburn
Fernhurst Lodge Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing