We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs not on leads even on child's play area!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Witton Country Park Visitor Centre

Witton Country Park Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dogs not on leads even on child's play area!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely park with plenty to do for families. I have been going for many years with my children when they were younger and now my grandchildren.
However, these days there are far too many dogs, many not on leads, so not child friendly. Seems to me this is a dogs' park not a family park. When are the council going to start putting children before dogs? Even on the play area (where dogs are not allowed) there were a number of unleashed dogs!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
267 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“A gem we never knew existed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have passed this location many times on our way into Blackburn to shop, and didn't know it was there. We were taken there today by two friends, and between us we had seven dogs, and we all loved it. You can walk uphill into the wooded area (quite steep), or walk along the side of the river, and back via the other side of the sports pitches. We walked for well over an hour, and the dogs enjoyed playing in the river, and the large ornamental pond. Good news for us is there aren't any sheep, as one of our dogs loves chasing them, so she was off lead for the whole walk. The views are stunning as the wooded areas rise up the hillside around the valley. There is ample free parking, and a nice little cafe to have a drink and/or a lite bite. The outside public toilets are a bit grim though, but we always have hand cleaning gel. There are many attractions for children of all ages, such as swings etc. It is well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Our Dogs like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a regular dog walking area for us - and our cavalier has just decided to learn to swim in the river. Free, free parking in a variety of places (so we can vary the walks), with regular level walking as well as access to uphill wooded walks. Winter, summer, spring - we're always to be found over here a couple times a week.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanandRoseTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I work in Blackburn and over the years have visited Witton Park a fair number of times. There is no denying that the woods and walks are stunning. But like a lot of facilities run by the council nowadays, it has suffered from cuts in funding. Things that were open a few years ago like the stables, are now closed. The ornamental pond was full of floating rubbish (public REALLY need to be more respectful!) and the potentially fantastic wooden adventure playground was showing signs of wear and tear (broken swing seats) despite being only a few years old.

The cafe was clean and staff cheerful and friendly. The toilets situated in a converted porto cabin smelled absolutely vile even from a distance! There was a slightly tatty kids fun fair set up near to the cafe, offering rides on mini rollercoasters, bouncy castle, mini bungee jump etc, at around £2 per activity, could work out expensive. But the two young people in charge of the "fun house" were really nice to the two children I had brought. There was also a craft activity room next to the cafe where children could go and make things (masks when I visited) though Im unsure if there was a cost.

To be honest, if you pack a picnic, a football, kite or cricket set, you really dont need to spend any money. It's free and on a sunny summers day can be lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visit regularly and enjoy this beautiful corner of Blackburn. The colours of the park's many trees reflect the changing seasons as only Nature at it's best can do. The catering facilities are above average and the new playground is inspirational.
For couples there is plenty of scope for a quiet walk, for families there is plenty to keep the youngsters safely occupied.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank viv752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Witton Country Park Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Witton Country Park Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing