We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a traditional market”
Review of Blackburn Market

Blackburn Market
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Blackburn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blackburn Market is situated at the heart of Blackburn, Lancashire and is a modern market hall. We still have all the traditional traders you would expect from a market but all undercover. We have a food court, fresh food and non-food stalls and shops. We have toilets, free to use cash machine, baby changing facilities. We are also home to Blackburn Visitor Information Centre and Shopmobility. Lots of available car parks and we are open 6 days a week Monday to Saturday.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not really a traditional market”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

This isn't a quaint traditional market, it is a functional market under a characterless shopping mall. Whilst there are a few stalls with a great range of local foods such as cheeses and even tripe(!) there are a growing number of cheap electrical stalls etc. worth a look but not for longer than 15 min.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainFlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wheres the old market”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The market is very different now to when we lived in Lancashire. Its not really a market as its all under cover and more like a mall than a real market. Markets are supposed to be old and drafty places and this was rather disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mystic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice for bad weather days”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

the market and shops were very accessible, a good selection of shops and stalls with lots of things to see

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spacious and good selection”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I visited the market place as i like to wander round and see the stalls, i like the way this market is laid out, its spacious with all the same stall types grouped together.

The stalls are laid out in clothing etc, food stalls and the food court all grouped together....and i like how you can then head upstairs to the main mall

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern and vibrant market”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Refreshing to see a vibrant market. Has a good mix of stalls, excellent food counters. Looks great since it has been done up. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackburn Market also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Blackburn Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing