We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful Christmas at the Millstone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstone at Mellor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another wonderful Christmas at the Millstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was the fourth year that I had spent Christmas at the Millstone whilst visiting a relative in Blackburn. We had dinner on Christmas Eve and lunch on Christmas Day and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and beautifully presented for both of the meals, and the staff were delightful and they were so accommodating about special diets. I can confidently say from past experience that there is nowhere in Blackburn that would do better. I am clearly not alone in taking that view, as the restaurant gets booked up weeks in advance because people vote with their feet. It was a perfect Christmas.
During the year, I travel widely around the world and stay in many good hotels but I think Anson Bolton could teach many of them a few things about good food and how to cook it and present it imaginatively.
I stayed for two nights and I had a very comfortable room with everything I needed. The breakfast was also excellent (I chose lovely poached egg on poached fish which was cooked to perfection), and the yoghurt was so delicious that I checked the label - it was sourced locally in the Ribble Valley (Ann Forshaw I think - full marks to her too). On departure, I booked for next year - and for Easter - I think that speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Whether or not you stay overnight, the restaurant is a must. You will want to come back time and ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLeedsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
A big thank you for choosing the Millstone to spend your Christmas, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back at Easter when hopefully the weather will be a little warmer!
Kind regards
Anson & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    119
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
194
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The family Christmas meal is something of a tradition for my wife's family now but as the family grows the event gets bigger and bigger!!! but once agan the Millstone ensured we had a brilliant evening. With 21 members of the family taking part in the Xmas celebrations and we had a fabulous time. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff they even had a good laugh with us when the "Reeve" side of the family started the Christmas Cracker battle... The food was excellent as hot!. We will return again as we often do on a regular basis. I expect my wife will be rebooking very shortly for Christmas 2014! Finally thank you everyone at the Millstone for a great night! Cheers to you all! - Nigel x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letstakeabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback, it’s always nice to know that the quality our food is consistent & staff love nothing more than to join in with Christmas crackers wars! Have a great Christmas & we look forward to seeing you all in the New Year.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visited the Millstone for a family Christmas meal and had a brilliant evening. There was a large number (21) of us in the top room and we had a blast. The food was delicious as always and the staff were really polite and friendly. The atmosphere is great and we return on a regular basis. I would highly recommend a visit to the Millstone for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DowntonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review, such feedback really does motivate the team especially at this time of year when we’re so busy. Not sure if you follow us on twitter @MillstoneMellor or like us on Facebook as we regularly keep our guests posted on what happening throughout the year.

Have a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 7th December after being at a wedding at nearby Hoghton Tower. There were a good few in the wedding party that had also booked at the Millstone.

We arrived not long after midnight and were able to check in at that time with no fuss as the bride had called ahead. However we had been advised that bacon butties would be available but when we asked for food, we were told everything in the kitchen had been switched off.

On going up to our room, we were met by a wall of stifling heat and immediately had to open the window to make the room barely liveable. The room was much smaller than I'd expect when paying £105 per night, however the bathroom was a good size and with modern decor.

Unfortunately there were no towels in our room so at close to 1am I had to go back to reception and request that some were brought to the room. This was done speedily but it was disappointing that they weren't readily available.

The noise as other guests made their way through the hotel was loud and intrusive and didn't lend itself to a restful nights sleep.

3 of us went for breakfast together at 9:30 and our orders were quickly taken, however the selection on the "serve yourself" continental breakfast table was poorly replenished and when my friend took the last available croissant, no more were brought out. When our toast order arrived, me having ordered white and my two friends having ordered brown, I received two full rounds, yet they were presented with half a round each. Despite this, the full cooked breakfasts we ordered were tasty and enjoyable (apart from the veggie sausages!) however I'd be reluctant to pay the price advertised if you were buying breakfast separately.

Despite our stay at the Millstone only being a short one, I feel that I saw enough to be able to say that I will not be spending £105 again at Millstone at Mellor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zahir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. It sounds like a fantastic wedding you attended as many guests were in good spirits on their return. I apologise for the shortfall in our housekeeping and I’ve mentioned this oversight to our housekeeping team.

It would appear we got our wires crossed with the bride as we do offer “Bacon Butties” to guests arriving back from such venues, but as we don’t offer 24 hour room service we do ask that “bacon butties” are pre ordered, however it was pleasing to note that the team on duty were able to offer cold sandwiches.

Breakfast can be a little hectic on a Sunday mornings & I apologise for the buffet not being replenished quickly enough, I was surprised by your feedback on our vegetarian sausages as we have had many favourable comments about them.

The room you stayed in has recently been refurbished and I believe a bed and breakfast rate of £105 per couple represents good value compared to similar hotels within the area.

Given the length of your stay I do find your comments a little unfair though I’m sincerely sorry that you left the Millstone feeling the way you did.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Whilst the bedrooms are not huge every room is unique, wonderfully comfortable with everything you need. The shortbread is divine. The service is warm and friendly, they can't do enough. And the food is great. Fresh local produce lovingly prepared and served. Just had the best hotel breakfast in years. Can't recommend enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kriskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your review, Kris. I’m glad we are able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay every time you’re in the area. We like to send our guests off after a hearty breakfast as we think it sets them up for the day ahead! I hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Went here on our anniversary and have been 3 times since, it offers some of the best food I've had of its sort if I'm being perfectly honest.

The service is terrific, reasonably priced with a great atmosphere. If you're in the area do yourself a favour and get down there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We pride ourselves on simple food done well, using locally sourced, fresh ingredients. Repeat business such as yours is very important to us and your feedback helps us to check whether we are doing things right so thanks again from all the team for taking the time to leave us your comments.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had to stay at the Millstone last week due to a company function. The hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly and very helpful.
The room was amazing , had everything you could possibly need. Local made cookies on the tea tray was a nice touch.
I only have one criticism and that is the temeprature of the room. It was very very warm and the layout of the room did not enable me to open the windows, there was a fan in the room which I did use during the night, seemed slighty unusual using one in late October.
But apart from being too warm the my stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we’re all really committed to delivering first class hospitality in both food and service and such feedback tells us we’re on the right track. Have a very Happy Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing