We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstone at Mellor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Millstone for one night recently. We had two rooms which I think were "county rooms" which were beautifully decorated with really comfortable beds. The rooms were very well equipped with a good quality hairdryer, steam iron and Roberts radio. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and the service excellent. There was an interesting selection of beers and wines. We could not fault a single thing and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to right such a glowing review. we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Millstone and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Anson & All at Team Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    119
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
194
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for a night as it seemed a good location to explore Lancashire from. The room we had was comfortable and clean.There were crisps, fruit and homemade shortbread in the room as well as fresh milk and a tea pot, which was a nice touch. Our meal was very enjoyable and decently priced. The best thing for me was that I had the best night's sleep for a long time thanks to a really comfy bed! The breakfast selection was good and we were set up for our walk on the Tolkein trail.
.

Room Tip: Room 36 was a decent sized room, towards the end of a corridor, over the pub. It overlooked a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysemanuel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many Thanks for your great feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to "Sunny" Lancashire in the near future

Kind Regards

Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here as had a meeting nearby in Accrington so only a 15 minute drive. From start to finish the staff were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the evening and would recommend the fish deli platter! Great selection of wine and beers, really liked the food accompaniment recommendations on the menu. Cosy room which was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great with a choice of cooked and cold selections. I will definately be staying here again, thank you all for such a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay here, your comments sum up everything we strive to provide for our guests and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in the area


Maria Galvin
Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall the stays were just Ok. I've stayed a couple of times both in the pub itself and in the annex across the carpark which I feel has the better rooms. The ones in the pub were a bit tired. The property tends to pride itself on the "gastro pub" experience so seems to concentrate on evening meals and catering for that clientel. For a guest there is little or no space allocate for relaxing in the bar area, with majority of it set aside for the restaurant, and the other half split between "pub bit" and tables and chairs for other diners. Breakfast is ok but both times I stayed they were short staffed so it took time for service.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex building are probably better but ask for a room away from the roadside as if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize your stay didn't live upto expectations, however you'll be pleased to know that we have just had a full refurbishment of our bedrooms & we're really pleased with the new rooms.
I can understand what you mean about the bar area as we get so busy that most evenings the dining areas are all full but next time you are here please do let one of the team know if you have nowhere to sit in the middle bar and we will happily clear a dining table for you if one is available. We also have the Pleasington Lounge upstairs which is a cosy sitting room that we save especially for residents.

Kind Regards

Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We've been many times for meals but decided to stay over on their 'Spring into Summer' offer to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Checked in OK but was not told whether we needed to book a table for dinner or told when breakfast was served in the morning. We was supposed to get a 'basket of goodies' which was supposed to be waiting for us on arrival, but we did not get one!!
The room was nice and well presented, there was a tea/coffee tray but no milk or home made biscuits which, again we was supposed to get. The shower pressure in the room was extremely poor and was little more than a trickle. I was travelling with my wife in a double room but there was only one bathrobe! The meal was very nice, 3 courses from their AA rosette menu and a glass of Champagne on arrival. Breakfast the next morning was good, plenty of choice and fresh produce. I would still got to The Millstone for meals but I would not stop again and felt a little disappointed by the things that we were supposed to get but did not receive and the shower pressure. I think they concentrate more on the food than the hotel side, 8/10 food 6/10 Hotel Experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickW1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It’s really disappointing to read your review as it appears your stay wasn’t up to our usual standards. The staff concerned have been spoken to in regards to the missing basket and bathrobe and we will endeavour to make sure nothing gets missed from the rooms like that again. We hope this experience hasn’t deterred you from staying in the future and that you still dine with us as frequently as you have in the past.

Kind Regards

Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Second stay and even better experience. Arrived to the village church bells, room was 5 star (36), restaurant food and service was fab again. Worth the money for an adult getaway, would recommend if you want to be away from it all. Business stay for event at Ewood.

Room Tip: Rm 36 was lovely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirral01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Room 36 is our newly refurbished character room and we’ve received some great feedback so I’m glad you agree! Please do come and stay again next time you’re in Blackburn.

Kind regards

Maria Galvin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
227 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I paid a few £ extra for the suite in the hotel and it was really worth it. A lovely bedroom, bathroom and lounge area which made the business I needed to do far easier than sitting in the restaurant, bar or private lounge area within the hotel.
Good quality wireless made up for the patchy phone signal.

The food was superb and there were plentiful breakfast options. Would not hesitate to revisit this place as it was everything you could want from a country hotel.

Special note to the young waiter who supported Blackburn Rovers. Forgotten his name, but a really professional, friendly chap who will go far.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Many Thanks for your kind feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Being a Bolton supporter I've had words with the young waiter about his tireless Blackburn Rovers Chit Chat but he still persists!!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Anson, Dom (The Rovers Supporter) & All at Team Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing