We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”
Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Ranked #7 of 220 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived here with no knowledge of serving times, as it happened the kitchen had closed but the staff had no issue reopening it to do our meals. Good food at a good price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknowles001, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always try to accommodate people wherever possible. We are very lucky to have such as loyal, helpful team here at the Bay!

Kind regards

Helen Knowles
Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    50
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent value home cooked food - 3 courses for under £12 must be good value (but only on Wednesdays to Sundays) Beer garden with new seating, large car park and friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknowles001, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our pub. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We will be serving food 7 days a week soon as demand has grown significantly!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Helen Knowles
Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We called in on our way home from harrogate and what a pleasant little place! Good food excellent service will be returning soon

Helpful?
Thank Ellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknowles001, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We always aim to give a personal, friendly service to all of our customers & of course great food!

See you again soon...!

Kind regards

Helen Knowles
Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and prices”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really enjoyed eating at the bay horse. The beer garden is really pleasant and the wainwright was probably the best pint I've had! The menu is very reasonable and its a shame that the food was so filling as I didn't get chance to have a dessert. There only appeared to be one member of staff working at the Bay Horse as he was serving drinks, taking food orders, answering the phone and doing waiting duties which wasn't too bad on a relatively quiet day like today but I could imagine would be a nightmare when it gets busy. I'll definitely be going back though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterWilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknowles001, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing our pub. We take great pride in keeping our garden clean & tidy & our ale in top condition!
On the day you visited I had been called away due to a family issue so had to leave the bar manager alone. This is not something that would happen ordinarily but I'm sure he coped well as he is a fantastic member of staff!

Hope to see you again & maybe you can leave room for dessert!

Kind regards

Helen Knowles
Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food & lovely landlady!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When visiting the Bay Horse I was very impressed with the lovely new décor and excellent garden which has plenty of seating areas. Couldn't fault anything, Warm welcome from the lovely landlady Helen and the food is fantastic. I will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hknowles001, Owner at The Bay Horse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch & hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Helen Knowles
Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing