We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Situated for King George's Hall”

Chimneys Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimneys Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Blackburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I picked this Guest House due to the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor and also because of the closeness to King George's Hall, where I went to see a Concert on Sunday. It is a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the theatre, and a further 10 minutes walk to Blackburn Railway Station. My bedroom was clean & comfortable and had freeview TV, and although I didn't opt for the ensuite, two shower rooms/toilet were a hop away on the landing. There was a nice TV lounge and the dining room was nice & bright with a scenic view towards the distant hills.The breakfast was good & plentiful and the proprietors very friendly.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chimneys to anyone looking for a stay in Blackburn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for one night in Blackburn as we were following a band so we booked here all that was left was a twin room which we accepted. what they didn't tell us ws that it was at the very top of the house, had no shower facility (unless you wanted communal shower?) and no service tray (Coffees etc) The room is very clean, but very basic. the beds are very soft, as are the pillows, so if you have a back problem beware!! The curtains could do with being of the Blackout variety as they let light in around 4am that disturbs your sleep..Overall yes, very helpful, but communication could have been better at the time of booking, it would have been nice to know that we didn't have a shower but a bathroom instead... we had travelled a fair distance so a shower would have been nice. Over all a reasonable stay ..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HiltzTheCoolerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A comfortable three night stay for a weekend's sing at Blackburn Cathedral. Very willing to accommodate gluten-free requirements for the Saturday / Sunday none-cooked breakfast. Welcoming and friendly reception and helpful guidance on the limited options for eating out in and around Blackburn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I do a lot of travelling for business and stay in a wide range of hotels but when i stay in blackburn i always come back to Chimneys Guest House. What i love about staying here is because its just like being at home except someone makes me breakfast.
The owners are really friendly and will help to accommodate your needs.
The building is a old victorian style building with character and a very homely feel. The rooms are clean and the beds and bedding are so soft and you will find it hard to get out of bed in a morning. The breakfast is amazing and they will even make it to your requirements which a lot of places refuse to do.
The guest house is located a few minutes from the town centre with a Tesco express just up the road.
I will be staying here every time i visit blackburn and can't wait to see Mardy (the resident cat) again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonn4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A female business colleague recommended Chimneys Guest House following her stay earlier this year, suggesting it as a better located place to reside within Blackburn, being far more economical than our previously preferred hotel with the traditional values one comes to expect from a well run bed and breakfast.

My room was spotless, spacious and well appointed, having a panoramic view over the town.

The breakfasts are very very good - all the poached eggs I enjoyed were double yolks!
As my stay included a Friday night, I had the Continental breakfast option which is available at weekends and this provided a welcome alternative to another full English.

The residents guest lounge is an attractive feature.

The owners are most welcoming and relaxed which translates into an establishment that is assured in terms of comfort, service and care.

Negatives: none really to speak of, the car park may occasionally become busy.

High standards, good value.

Enthusiastically endorsed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scymzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed overnight a few weeks ago. Overall, a very clean guesthouse with a very nice (and big) breakfast the next morning. Owners very friendly and go out of there way to help you with anything you may need. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I've stayed at Chimney's several times over the years, and am surprised that there is no Tripadvisor review, but then the owner Shona, doesn't go looking for plaudits, she does a wonderful job, which she feels speaks for itself. Chimney's is in a great location within easy walking distance of the town and all it has, as well as convenient for a quick drive away or around Blackburn. There is private off road parking at the back of the house. The Guest House itself is spread over two Victorian houses. The twin and double rooms are all large, and although there is only one en suite, I don't think more than two bedrooms share a bathroom. Some bedrooms have their own sink. Breakfast is fantastic and huge, cereals and juice as well as the full english. A hospitality tray is set up for guests too. Nothing is too much trouble Shona and Stuart go out of their way to ensure that your stay with them is comfortable and warm. Can't recommend this clean and comfortable Guest House enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackburn hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn Town Centre
2.1 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
472 reviews
2.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fernhurst Lodge
Fernhurst Lodge
#4 of 4 in Blackburn
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blakewater Hotel
Blakewater Hotel
#6 of 8 in Blackburn
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
The WIllows lodge
The WIllows lodge
#1 of 8 in Blackburn
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimneys Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimneys Guesthouse

Address: 139 Preston New Road, Blackburn BB2 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blackburn
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Chimneys Guesthouse Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing