We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed over for rugby.”
Review of Wheldale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wheldale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed over for one night ,first time will stay again,Friendly staff ,helpful when checked in as pub was really busy for match later.Room very clean and comfortable,shower/bathroom spot on.Lovely breakfast to set me up for day.thanks to Paul,Donna and staff.

Room Tip: if you want to get close to the rugby this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markdanby35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

stayed one night ,clean and good bed ,very good value for money and I will stay again when working in the area.The breakfast was spot on with cereals and toast or a cooked breakfast if desired at minimal extra cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed one night me and two other friends 19, 11, 2013, as we where Working in the area, we have stayed at other b&b's in the area and yes this place did tick all the boxes, great rooms,great toilet & bathroom facilities , great morning breakfast , & two lovely owners, I cannot praise enough, and wish them both great success for the future, highly recommended ,see you both again soon. Many thanks. John,Paul, & Andy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First impressions were grim - you enter the pub (actually called the Boot room as others have pointed out) through the rammiest room in the place!
The room was basic but clean and bed comfortable.
The hosts were very welcoming and provided anything requested (iced water, decent coffee).
Breakfast was basic but fine (cereal and toast, juice and a latte).
value for money - but not a romantic venue!

Room Tip: Room 3 was a single room and not over the entrance/exit doorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed 1 night on Sunday 2nd June,My room was cosy and very clean,take a laptop as there in no tv in the room.There are 2 shower/toilet rooms a short walk along the corridor,also in the corridor aretea/coffee making facilities.The shower room was spotless and very powerful shower.What it says on the hotels website is what you get, for £27 a large breakfast with plenty of tea/coffee and toast.Very good for a one night stay,plenty of free paking and great hosts,thankyou Barryd (titan)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

When we booked the 'Hotel' as it appears on laterooms.com, it turned out to actually be above The Boot Room Pub.
I wanted to run at first impression before we even got to the room. We booked a family room with two single beds and a double bed. The room was very clean apart from the plastic bag of rubbish we found in the ward-rope. We had fresh towels, and lots of pillows. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room but there was a table in the hallway that had coffee and tea making utensils.......
We decided to go out for awhile.....it was a saturday night so The Boot Room was very busy, there was even a fight in the pub. It did quiet down after 1 o'clock.

As morning came, one of the showers wasn't working.
It was a lovely day so we decided to have breakfast outside. I wanted cooked breakfast but was told i had to order it upon arrival. However the owners made sure i got some cooked breakfast, it was really nice......

The facilities are basic so if you want somewhere to rest your head to break up a trip or just a night......its not that bad at all.
The owners reception and hospitality make up for everything else.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is now called the Boot Room and is opposite Castleford Rugby ground.
The price is incredible £25 B and B but was advertised on hotel.com at £23.
Room is small but freshly decorated and spotless. Shared bathrooms (2) clean and good showers hot and powerful. Very basic facilities but free wifi available.
Breakfast was very nice and the landlady very helpful and a credit to the pub.
Downside is the pub is licenced til 11.30 pm weekdays and 1 am weekend so noisy with shouting and the jukebox. Once the pub closed it was very quiet.
If you don't mind basic rooms no frills and can deal with the licensing hours this is a great place to stay.
Would suit party goers at weekend. Sadly I was working.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pootsue121165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wheldale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheldale Hotel

Address: Wheldon Road, Castleford WF10 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Castleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleford
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wheldale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run bed and breakfast accommodation located 10 min walk from Castleford town centre. All rooms have been recently refurbished and fitted with new beds and furniture. All rooms have Internet access. The hotel benefits from having large beer garden and outside covered dining area for those summer months. The property also has benefit of traditional coal fire in lounge, were a range of Wines, Spirits Ales and Lagers are available. Located near Castleford Tigers Rugby Ground, plus for the more adventurous ideally located for visiting nearby nature reserve at Fairburn Ings. We are also within a £3 taxi ride to the very popular Xscape complex were many activities and Bars offer a great night out. Short Car, Bus or Train Journey to Leeds, Wakefield, Pontefract, Barnsley or a little further you can get to York, Sheffield or Doncaster. Great value accommodation for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Wheldale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheldale Hotel Castleford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing