We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed more variety”
Review of The Prince William

The Prince William
Ranked #49 of 97 Restaurants in Castleford
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Prince William is a family friendly Carvery restaurant situated just off Junction 31 of the M62. We Serve food from 8am to 10pm everyday. Come in for our great value all you can eat buffet breakfast at just £4.29, 8am-11:30am, or enjoy a main meal from just £4.99. Hand carved roasted meats, 100% hand rolled fresh dough pizzas, and stacked up burgers, all with unlimited salad or veg. Enjoy great value draught Beers & ciders, or maybe a craft beer. We show all major sporting events across BT Sport & Sky Sports channels LIVE on 6 big screen TVs in the bar with all our great food and drinks offers available to all.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needed more variety”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food was good as usual, but there wasn't the variety of meats as they had been busier than expected! When we were there, was no more than 6 tables occupied.
If you are charging Sunday prices, make sure you have the range of meat available to justify it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    45
    25
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again avoid like the plague!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We came as a group of friends thinking we would get a lovely meal and have a lovely catch up with eachother. How wrong the carvery the meats looked lovely but were tough the veg also looked lovely but it was cold and the gravy was like water. Tables around us were dirty and had dirty plates stacked. When we complained we got a shrug of the shoulders and 'i only work here' we asked for the manager but waited 10 mins so we decided to get up and leave. The wheatsheaf got our custom that afternoon!

Helpful?
1 Thank karenjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“totally terrible & dirty”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

we ordered drinks and paid for the carvery and sat down. we looked at all the tables around us and everyone was covered in left food. I then stood up to find out I had stood in a potato we looked at the carvery and there was so much food on the floor we had enough. we asked to speak to the manager and he came over and we told and showed him the mess and he asked if we would like a refund no real apology . We won't be going there again and we had a great meal in January

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank N4bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly place and excellent value for food. Seating could do with a little clean, but we understand that children are dining.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Food had been sat there all day!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Crown carveries are a poor mans Toby, you don't expect much and indeed I have had some bad experiences over the years with awful food and service at the Picture house (Leeds) and the cock and Crown (Wakefield). We visited the Prince William Castleford a few weeks ago just as it opened for lunch a few weeks ago and the food was well prepared and cooked to perfection and the servie was good so we thought maybe things had improved. However we visited again today to find slow service and food that looked and tasted like it had been sat there congealing for most of the day. The meat was scratty, the gravy and mashed potato both had a thicj crust on it from where it had been sat for ages, there was no vegetables so we had to wait whilst they brought them out slowly. Also not a large choice of beers and lagers. Not a good meal, will go back to Toby next time - a bit more expensive but worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince William also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Prince William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing