We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to Legoland or Thorpe Park”

Chessington World of Adventures Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.70*
and up
Chessington World of Adventures Resort Admission Ticket with Meal Deal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us at Chessington World of Adventures Resort for a family adventure! Spin on KOBRA in the heart of Wild Asia, soar on Vampire in Transylvania, see giraffe, rhinos and flamingos on ZUFARI: Ride into Africa!, and try not to get soaked on Scorpion Express and Rameses Revenge! Meet the lions, tigers and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, hiss with the snakes in Creepy Caves and get lost beneath the waves in the SEA LIFE centre, before letting your little monkeys play in the AMAZU Treetop Adventure.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Legoland or Thorpe Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

The sun was shining the weather is sweet....Came to Chessington today at about lunch time, ride queues were unexpectedly short, being a weekend, hot, sunny day. Managed to get on about 7-8 rides comfortably. We found the park a lot cleaner overall, the toilet blocks were clean and smelt nicer than I remember. Most staff approachable & friendly and able to give decent directions. Only negatives are still too many smokers walking around the park instead of being in their designated areas and I personally don't want to see overweight tatooed men walking around topless, if I want to be sick I'll get on Rameses Revenge. Other than those 2 issues we will definitely be back very soon. Daniel & Tiffany on Rides/Attractions were super stars. Keep up the great work

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mai4andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,481
    1,616
    1,046
    768
    815
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great for mid-aged children (too old for legoland-too young for thorpe park!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Went to Chessington after going to Thorpe park and Legoland. Children aged 12 and 9 and so they found it a bit tame after Thorpe park, but it was still a good day out. We did have breakdowns though, Ramesis revenge and Dragon falls broke down after queuing for ages, we were given priority passes for another ride, but there's not too many others that the children wanted to go on. Would still recommend the park experience though!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sianWales_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had a brilliant day out here. Although it is expensive to fast trak the rides we definately would recommend it as you save so much time queuing. We fast traked on several of the fast rides and managed to do so much in the day and spent very little time in the queues. The quality of the rides is great and there is something available for all ages. Brilliant day out!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have been to this place many times. It is not as extreme as Thorpe Park or places like that, infact, the worst rides are Ramesis Revenge, Vampire and Dragons Fury etc, so very family friendly. Many other people have said about the breakdowns, which is very true, everytime I go there, theres a new breakdown. Bubbleworks, even Vampire Ride 1 time, and last time we went it was Dragon Falls... Overall a good day out, never stayed in the hotels but its not really worth it because 1 day is enough for Chessington, there isnt much there apart from a theme park, Sealife and a very small zoo.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherriecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Have grandchildren, will visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I'm not the greatest fan of theme parks; LegoLand, even Disneyland California and Disney World Florida have left me rather cool, but hey - these places are not built for me, as most of the rides would give me an instant migraine, or leave me soaked.
We went, taking a couple of 11 year old girls, both of whom had been before, so they knew their way around. They also had annual passes, which we didn't, so they sailed through the entry while we joined a queue for 30 minutes. This was just after park opening. Queues were well-managed, and it stayed dry, so it was fine. We had a 2-for the price of one voucher, that made the trip a better deal.
Once inside, we were able to leave the girls to their own devices, using regular text and phone contacts. The size and shape of most of the people in the park bore witness to the type of food on offer.
For someone not interested in the rides, the park still has much to offer as long as the weather is good. There are picnic areas, and a circular walk on the perimeter of the place, and people-watching is not an activity to be sniffed at.
For us, the best place was the zoo, and in particular, the meercats - could have stayed all day watching them! Seeing zebra and ostrich close up is always nice and the nearby Chessington Resort Hotel provides a good backdrop that does not jar. One could be in Kenya.
For lunch, or a sit down in the cool, or a cup of tea, you can leave the park - having a hand stamped for re-entry, and enter the hotel. It is a pricey place, but then so is the park! We had tea and sat there for an hour, at peace, watching the zebra out of the window.
We spent in all nearly 5 hours at Chessington. The girls queued for most of that time and had only three rides, but nevertheless seemed delighted.
We left before the crowd and had no queues getting out.
Overall, the park looks quite tired, but being open all year in the English climate must make it difficult to maintain. People clearly loved all the rides and many were equally as much fun to watch - without getting wet!
A place such as this, where there is genuinely something for everyone, makes a good day out. There's no way I would pay unless there was a 50% off deal though!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BruceNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chessington World of Adventures Resort also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Chessington World of Adventures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing